Pembs KO Cup - Seasiders ease past against gritty Blues


Pembrokeshire KO Cup:

Matty Phillips (Haverfordwest) shows his pace and power in a previous match


Tenby United 28 - Haverfordwest 20


Venue: Haywood Lane, Tenby


Referee: Tom Carew (Milford Haven)

Jack Broadhurst - another try for Tenby United back rowerTenby United gained their expected foothold in the final four of this season’s KP Cup with this victory against Haverfordwest, but not before they had been pushed all the way by a determined opposition which had clearly come to make their mark on play.

But it looked as if The Seasiders would ease through with a 22-7 interval lead and with a depleted visiting squad having used up their small bench through injury - but their pack in particular showed real commitment that will have pleased coach Simon Lepetit as they matched the opposition, even in the final quarter when another injury caused them to be reduced to 14 players  and they still caused the home supporters to bite their nails a little until a last-ditch penalty from Lloyd Thomas sealed the Seasiders’ success.

Seasiders start really well but The Blues battle back


The writing looked on the wall for The Blues as Tenby took a 14-point lead in the first 20 minutes as they opened their account with a try from 30 metres out and a quick pick up at the base of a scrum saw No 8 Jack Broadhurst link with scrum half Jake Henson (brought in for the unwell Tom Lewis) and flanker Dan Colley to put Jake Thomas over for a try converted by No 10 Thomas.

Then another scrum provided the platform for a Colley run and when he was hauled down just short it was full back Gwion Jones who came up in super port and crossed near the posts for a try near the pots which centre Max Brindley converted since Thomas was taking a ten-minute ‘rest’ for a high tackle.

Late points give Tenby a good lead at the break


Referee Tom Carew (Milford Haven - had a good game in charge of this tough local derby)But Haverfordwest fought back after 33 minutes when they ran the ball out of defence and Matty Phillips made the initial break before kicking ahead - and another controlled kick by scrum half Liam Eaton saw centre Jack Evans claim the touchdown before full back Owain Roberts added the extra points.

The Blues also had a couple of other half chances before the break, especially when an attempted interception was just knocked on - and they paid the price as Thomas returned the fray to land a penalty from 30 metres and then live-wire back rower Jack Broadhurst ended a move with a 35–metre dash up the touchline for an unconverted try.

The second half saw The Blues reduce the deficit with an excellent long-range penalty by Owain Roberts but a Thomas penalty restored the Seasiders advantage until a period of pressure near their line by the Blues’ pack, led by Karl Busch, Mike Griffiths and their marauding front row saw a series of charges at the home line before referee Tom Carew (Milford Haven), who had a good game in control, lost patience with giving penalties and awarded a penalty try.

Tension in both camps in the closing minutes


Then Roberts landed a 40-metre penalty to reduce the deficit to only five points and The Blues tried desperately for another score in the closing moments but as they tried to run the ball out of their 22 they lost control, conceded a penalty and Thomas set up to take The Scarlets through.

Tenby coach Jonathan Evans was quick to sing the opposition’s efforts and joined visiting spokesman Graham Dalton in selecting Blues’ back rower Mattie Phillips as the man of the match.

Evans also mentioned the performances of his prop Ethan Morgan and No 9 Jake Henson for their contributions but recognised that his team had been pushed all the way - but now joins everyone at Heywood Lane in waiting for the semi-final - as is everyone at Pembroke, Aberaeron and the Narberth Development Squad.

Tenby United: Gwion Jones: Luke Hartland; Max Brindley; Luke Waygood; Geraint Powell: Lloyd Thomas; Jake Henson: Ethan Morgan; Dan Allen; Rob Lucy: Tom Barrass; Luke Dedman (Capt): Jake Roberts; Dan Colley; Jack Broadhurst. Replacements: Howells Baker; Charlie Patching; Liam Pugh; Ed Murray John; Jack Brown; Jack Gooding; Brad Cramb; Archie Treadway-Williams.

Haverfordwest: Owain Roberts: Johnny White; Jack Evans; Iestyn Arnold; Archie Thomas: Liam Eaton; Lee Summons: Terry Lovell; Jamie Zambas; Dan Berry: Rhydian Watkins; Karl Busch: Dylan Williams; Mike Griffiths; Mattie Phillips. Replacements: Paul Thomas; Adam Williams; Mike Jones.