Pembrokeshire Fall Short at Bronwydd

Pembrokeshire U12s

Carmarthenshire U12s (207 for 6) beat Pembrokeshire U12s (179 for 5)

The Pembrokeshire Regional under 12 squad opened its campaign with an entertaining 40-over encounter against Carmarthenshire at Bronwydd CC, where both teams acquitted themselves well with some top-quality stroke play, accurate bowling and neat fielding on a fast outfield.
Batting first Carmarthenshire made a steady start through Tudur Davies (31) but after his dismissal, Callum Thomas (40) and Ifan Knott (58 off 53 balls) batted superbly in a partnership of 98 to frustrate the Pembrokeshire bowlers and build towards a big total, whilst Carwyn Axford (17) gave some late impetus with ‘Mr Extras’ adding 53, a statistic which was to ultimately make a real difference.

Pembs bowl well – and make a positive start with the bat

For Pembrokeshire, Evan Watts (1 for 8), Joe Phillips (1 for 10) and Jake Thomas (1 for 21) struck with the ball; and Owen Phelps claiming two run outs, with Seth Willington showing real promise with his leg spin.
After tea Pembrokeshire set out positively in reply and following the early loss of Phelps, captain Lewis Miller (48) put on 40 runs with Watts (18) and an excellent partnership of 85 with the hard hitting Jacob Owen (36).

Wickets tumble after skipper Miller departs

Miller was then unluckily run out two runs short of a deserved half century; Pembrokeshire losing three wickets for three runs to stand at 140 for 5. Harry Fuller (12 not out) and Seth Willington (21 not out) tried to rebuild momentum but despite a valiant effort Carmarthenshire held on for victory by 28 runs as those 53 extras conceded proved costly in the final analysis.
Coach Andrew Miller was pleased with the performance, despite the loss, with so many positive individual contributions, including that of Reuben Whitehead, who was making his regional debut, which bode well for the season ahead.
Pembrokeshire Under 12s:
Back Row: Joe Phillips (Llangwm) Jake Thomas (Narberth) Evan Watts (Haverfordwest) Harry Fuller (Whitland) Jacob Owen (Whitland) Seth Willington (Hook) Andrew Miller (Coach)
Front Row: Owen Phelps (Hook) Dom Asson (Llangwm) Lucas Davies (Hook) Lewis Miller (Hook) Rhys Power (Neyland) Reuben Whitehead (Haverfordwest)