Old Gold complete derby double over Young Bluebirds

Haverfordwest County Development


Cymru Premier Development League South:


Haverfordwest County 1 - Carmarthen Town 3

Venue: Bridge Meadow Stadium

Referee: Sean O’Connor (who had a good game with his quiet but firm control)

Assistants: Sion Jenkins and Neill Crawshay

Man of the Match: Sam Phillips (Carmarthen Town)

Carmarthen Town’s talented young players completed the double over their counterparts from Haverfordwest County, coming back from a goal down to take the lead at half time and then adding a third goal near the end as reward for being the better side in that period.

It was the Young Bluebirds who made the better start as first team regular Jack Wilson was only just over the cross bar from a ball whipped in from the edge of the box – and then showed his skills as he comfortably outpaced the Town’s central defenders and neatly lobbed advancing keeper Tom Windsor from 12 yards.

Jamie Thomas clears the danger

Bluebirds relax – and pay the price

It was a quality finish and the homesters looked likely to add others but gradually took their foot off the pedal and paid the price as Liam Sheppard, Mabon Evans and especially Sam Phillips got more and more involved.

The ‘Old Gold’ youngsters drew level when Macsen Llewelyn drove in from the edge of the box and finessed his drive past Josh Le-Grice in the County goal.

Le-Grice also made a couple of other excellent saves, not least when he pushed a shot onto the post from Scott Jones and recovered well as the rebound rammed the crossbar!

But right on half time the visitors took the lead as a cross found Rob Crawford, who buried his first-time shot into the top corner for a quality finish.

Sean O Connor, Sion Jenkins and  Neill Crawshay

‘Old Gold’ have the lion’s share of possession – and chances

The second half was an entertaining one as both teams played good football and Town’s tricky winger Llewelyn looked as if he had scored his second from a low cross shot – but was rightly recalled for offside.

Sam Phillips then featured from his non-stop running as he fired a left-foot shot over the bar and then showed his ball skills two twist past two defenders on the bye-line but was just off-target at the far post.

But a third goal finally came as The Bluebirds pushed forward in search of the equaliser and were caught on the hope as Llewelyn popped up on the left, beat two defenders and his drilled low cross allowed sub Jack Speed to make an impact as he tucked the ball home from five yards.

It was something of a body blow for Haverfordwest and Sean O’Connor’s final whistle brought an entertaining tussle to a conclusion – with both squads deserving a pat on the back for always trying to play constructive football!




Ceri Phillips (Haverfordwest County Head Coach):

For the first 30 minutes we were on top and good value for a 1-0 lead but then we sat back a little and conceded two goals before half time.

We paid the price when we tried to chase the game after the break but Carmarthen were good on the counter and we conceded a third goal late on as we were stretched on the counter.

But it is all part of their learning process and I was pleased we tried to play constructive football.

Sean Cresser (Carmarthen Town’s Head of Development:

This completed the double for us since we had already won 2-1 at home and I was pleased with the way that we kept our shape when we went behind. We have several 16 year olds in our squad and they will have learned a lot from this match, which was played in a good spirit – hard but fair throughout.

What I am most pleased about is the way we scored three good goals and created plenty of other chances, especially in the second half.


Haverfordwest County Development Team: Josh Le-Grice: Seamus Drake; Charlie Hayes; Max Howells; Jamie Thomas; Gareth Finnegan; Rhys Sture; Kieran King; Ryan Hughes; Kieran Smith; Jack Wilson. Substitutes: Joseph Griffiths; Tyree Thompson; Owen Davies; Rhys Morgan.

Carmarthen Town Development Team: Tom Windsor; Ethan gamble; Lucian Evans; Lewis Rocke (Capt); Ayrton Morgan; Liam Sheppard; Robert Crawford; Mabon Evans; Scott Jones; Sam Phillips; Macsen Llewelyn. Substitutes: Llywelyn James; Aaron Hoskin-Thomas; Jack Speed; Ryan Busby; Rhys Kelly.

Carmarthen Town Development