Lakesiders grab extra-time Welsh Cup victory against courageous Bluebirds

Danny Williams surrounded by Lakesiders defenders

Danny Williams surrounded by Lakesiders’ defenders
Tom Dyson works hard to keep possession


JD Welsh Cup – Round 4:

Haverfordwest County 0 – Bala Town 4 - (After extra time)

Tom Dyson works hard to keep possessionFor 90 minutes Haverfordwest County proved more than a match for the Welsh Premier Bala Town, but four quick-fire goals in the first period of extra time cruelly dumped the Bluebirds out of the Welsh Cup.

“We stuck to our game plan and it worked,” said Haverfordwest County gaffer Wayne Jones.

“But once they scored from the spot to put them in front they struck another three times in quick time to really take the shine off our performance.”

Close calls

Both sides were guilty of missing decent chances, but the Bluebirds were unlucky not to score twice as Danny Williams and Kaid Mohamed both had goal bound shots desperately cleared off the goal line.

The Lakesiders’ Henry Jones struck a vicious volley over the bar, and the same man whipped a low drive just past Kyle Stuart’s right-hand post.

Quick fire exit

However, as the score stood at 0-0 at full time the Bluebirds must have fancied their chances of toppling their illustrious opponents in extra time period, but 13 minutes into the first half of extra time the home outfit conceded four goals in quick succession and there was no way back.

Steven Tames struck a penalty to start the  scoring spree - then followed up by quick-fire goals from inside the box from Henry Jones, Chris Venables and Tames again ended the Bluebirds’ dreams of reaching the fifth round of the JD Welsh Cup.

Haverfordwest County: Kyle Stuart; Ricky Watts; Leon Luby; Sean Pemberton; Tim Hicks; Tom Dyson; Kaid Mohamed; Elliot Scotcher; Ben Fawcett; Danny Williams; Elliot Thomas. Substitutes: Jack Wilson; Nicky Palmer; Jake Merry; Gareth Finnegan; Seamus Drake.

Bala Town: Ashley Morris; Andy  Burns; Sean Smith; Anthony Miley; Stuart Jones; Nathan Burke; Henry Jones; Chris Venables; Kieran Smith; Mike Hayes; Steven Tames. Substitutes: Danny Gossett; Stuart Jones; Ryan Valentine; Stephen Fisher.

Referee: Mr. Dean John.
Assistants: Mr. Sion Peter Davies & Mr. Connor Thomas.
Fourth official: Ben Williams.

Ricky Watts plays the ball out of defence for Haverfordwest County

Ricky Watts plays the ball out of defence for Haverfordwest County