Indoor Cricket Reports and Scorecards - 8th November 2021


Neyland A march on whilst their B team lose heavily – and Llanrhian stay second

In the latest round of matches in the Pembrokeshire Indoor League there were three games in the ‘A’ section, with wins for Llanrhian, Narberth and Neyland A at the magnificent Neyland Hub Community Centre.
The umpires were Peter Davies, Rob Bellerby and Allan Hansen, with the scorers being Jason Cole (Llanrhian), Nicola Murray (Pembroke Dock) and Kacey Arran (Neyland).

Match One:


Llanrhian stroll home after Neyland B hit by injury

Llanrhian (115 for 3) beat Neyland B (35 all out)

Nigel Delaney - more runs for Llanrhian skipperDaf Williams -26 not out for Llanrhian openerLlanrhian gained one of the biggest victory margins ever in the indoor league as they overcame Neyland B by a massive margin of 80 runs despite the absence of their top scorer Jon Strawbridge, but Mattie Delaney stepped in alongside dad Nigel and exerted an influence as he grabbed two wickets that helped shoot out the opposition for only 35 runs.
The Neyland B team were clearly rocked back on their heels when talented opening bat Lewis Page fell awkwardly seeking a single and sustained a nasty ankle injury which required hospital treatment after he was initially tended by Peter ‘Jack’ Davies, the organiser of the competition.
Page was already in fine fettle as he had scored 12 quick runs but from then on no-one was able to manage double figures, with key run-maker Brad McDermott-Jenkins departing for a single, caught by Karl Davies to give Mattie Delaney his first wicket before he later shifted Gavin Rowlands as part of his promising 2 for 10 spell from only ten deliveries.
George Evans and Tom Pritchard were run out and Joe Campodonic was bowled by Davies to leave Neyland B all out in less than five overs.
Llanrhian had looked impressive as they batted first as Daf Williams (26) and skipper Nigel Delaney (27) were able to reach the retirement total with some excellent running between the wickets and ability to punish the loose ball, and keeper Iwan James also did the same with 27 before Karl Davies (18 not out) and Llion Williams was run out for 9 to keep them in a deserved second spot in the table.
Llanrhian Batting:
Daf Williams retired 26
Nigel Delaney retired 26
Iwan James retired 27
Karl Davies not out 18
Llion Williams run out 9
Mattie Delaney not out 0
Extras 9
Total (1 wicket) 115
Neyland B Bowling:
Tom Pritchard 2-0-23-0; Joe Campodonic 2-0-25-0; George Evans 2-0-18-0; Gavin Rowlands 2-0-18-0; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 2-0-24-0.
Neyland B Batting:
Lewis Page retired hurt 12
Brad McDermott-Jenkins ct Karl Davies b Mattie Delaney 1
George Evans run out 7
Tom Pritchard run out 4
Joe Campodonic b Karl Davies 6
Gavin Rowlands ct Llion Williams b Mattie Delaney 2
Extras 3
Total (all out) 35
Llanrhian Bowling:
Mattie Delaney 1.4-0-11-2; Daf Williams 1-0-7-0; Llion Williams 1-0-11-0; Karl davies 1-0-6-1.

Match Two:


Makeshift Dock pay the price


Pembroke Dock A (94 all out) lost to Narberth (95 for 3)

Narberth skipper Jordan Howell - led his team victory with top scoreScott Griffiths - Dock A skipper batted well in a losing sidePembroke Dock A had only five players for their match against Narberth and paid the inevitable  price because after they were bowled out for a reasonable final tally of 94 they were unable to stop Narberth’s talented youngsters from reaching their target for the loss of only three wickets, albeit with only four balls in hand.
The Dock made a shaky start as regular run-maker Rhys Daley departed for a duck before skipper Scott Griffiths and Tom Grimwood batted well, going back for second stints after they had lost quick more quick wickets and finishing up with respective scores of 36 and 29 respectively, whilst Billy Wood chipped in with 11 before he was run out.
Then Loui Davies (26) and Jordan Howell (38) topped Narberth’s batting and Kyle Williams was still there on 10 not out as Billy Wood showed his all-round talents with top bowling figures of 2 for 16.
The Dock deserve credit for at least pushing Narberth all the way but were left to reflect on the difficulties of playing a man short!
Pembroke Dock A Batting:
Rhys Daley b Rhodri Dyer 0
Scott Griffiths ct Rhodri Dyer b Louis Hough 36
George Smith ct Rhodri Dyer b Jordan Howell 29
Tom Grimwood run out 1
Billy Wood run out 11
Extras 9
Total (all out) 94
Narberth Bowling:
Rhodri Dyer 2-0-23-1; Wil Nicholas 2-0-26-0; Jordan Howell 2-0-26-1; Louis Davies 1-0-5-0; Louis Hough 1.4-0-14-1
Narberth Batting:
Loui Davies retired 26
Wil Nicholas run out 8
Jordan Howell not out 38
Louis Hough ct Rhys Daley b Billy Wood 9
Kyle Williams not out 10
Rhodri Dyer ct George Smith b Billy Wood 0
Extras 4
Total (3 wickets) 95
Pembroke Dock A Bowling:
Billy Wood 2-0-16-2; Archie Hillier-Wood 2-0-26-0; Rhys Daley 1.2-0-10-0; Tom Grimwood 2-0-29-0; George Smith 2-0-19-0.

Match Three:


Neyland A too strong for old rivals


Neyland A (129 for 4) beat Haverfordwest (94 all out)

Gregg Miller - still going strong for Neyland ADai Davies - again led Haverfordwest by exampleNeyland A maintained top spot as the only team left with a 100% record, comfortably accounting for old rivals Haverfordwest by a 30-run margin.
Sean Hannon changed his batting order around in the absence of a couple of regulars but after Nathan Banner had departed early from a run out skipper Hannon (26) joined Gregg Miller in a positive partnership before both had to retire.
Nick Koomen, regarded as the best all-rounder in the league, surprisingly departed for a duck, caught by Dai Davies off Dan Hopley’s bowling, but Patrick Hannon (17 not out) and Jack John (26 not out) maintained the momentum before Gregg Miller, surely the most experienced exponent of indoor cricket in the county, returned to finish on 41 in a healthy tally of 129 for 4 wickets.
Haverfordwest’s relative inexperience in this form of the game was evident as they lost Johnny White, Chris Phillips and Dan Hopley cheaply, two to the pace of Nathan Banner and the other to Patrick Hannon with the assistance of good glove work by his twin brother Sean.

Richard Davies supplied his usual steadying influence with 28 and skipper Dai Davies, unselfishly batting at No 6 and undeniably the team’s best batsman, went on to record a score of 39 before being run out seeking last-ditch runs as his Town team were dismissed for 94 all out.
Neyland A Batting:
Nathan Banner run out 5
Gregg Miller run out 41
Sean Hannon ct & b Johnny White 27
Nick Koomen ct Dai Davies b Dan Hopley 0
Patrick Hannon not out 17
Jack John retired 26
Extras 13
Total (4 wickets) 129
Haverfordwest Bowling:
Chris Phillips 2-0-25-1; Richard Davies 1-0-13-0; Dai Davies 2-0-26-1; Dan Hopley 1-0-12-0; Jason Stobbs 2-0-27-0; Johnny White 2-0-26-1.
Haverfordwest Batting:
Johnny White st Sean Hannon b Patrick Hannon 3
Chris Phillips ct Patrick Hannon b Nathan Banner 4
Dan Hopley ct Patrick Hannon b Nathan Banner 6
Richard Davies run out 28
Jason Stobbs ct Nathan Banner b Nick Koomen 4
Dai Davies run out 39
Extras 10
Total (94 all out)
Neyland A Bowling:
Jack John 2-0-10-0; Nathan Banner 2-0-21-2; Nick Koomen 2-0-21-1; Gregg Miller 2-0-28-0; Patrick Hannon 2-0-15-1.

Related Links