Indoor Cricket League Sunday 12th March 2013

Simon Holliday - another big-hitting innings for Haverfordwest
Ben Field - undefeated half century for The Town
Danny Potter - unlikely star bowler


Indoor Cricket League 


Town A pummel opposition

Participating Clubs: Haverfordwest A, Neyland B & Pembroke Dock
Venue: Tenby Leisure Centre
Umpires: Neil Croucher & Peter Davies

Haverfordwest showed why they are current Pembrokeshire Indoor Cricket League champions as they comprehensively defeated two relatively inexperienced teams from Neyland B and Pembroke Dock in the latest round of matches, with Neyland B taking the honours in the other game played.

Game One: Haverfordwest A (192 for 4) beat Pembroke Dock (66 for 5)

Simon Holliday - another big-hitting innings for HaverfordwestOpening bats Simon Holliday and Ben Field enjoyed batting practice aplenty as Haverfordwest A sped to a massive total in their allotted ten overs, with both retiring at the compulsory total of 25 and then returning to the crease to plunder more runs after Nigel Delaney and Danny Potter had both managed double figures before Kieran O’Connor and Huw Scriven were run out.

But then Holliday smashed nine fours and four sixes en route to his undefeated 76 and Field stroked five fours and four sixes in his 57 not out.

The Dock, who included a couple of Neyland C players because they were short, found it hard going as they lost early wickets and only guest player Callum Power (32 not out) managed double figures as they struggled to 66 for 5.

Town A skipper Danny Potter grabbed 3 for 3 for 13 and there was a wicket for O’Connor as they finished up as winners by 126 runs.


Haverfordwest A Batting:
Simon Holliday not out 76
Ben Field not out 57
Nigel Delaney b G Kingdom 13
Danny Potter b Declan Scourfield 12
Kieran O’Connor run out 6
Huw Scriven run out 6
Extras 22
Total (4 wickets) 192

Pembroke Dock Bowling:
Declan Scourfield 1-27; Tom Pritchard 0-34; George Kingdom 1-38; Nathan Sutton 0-41; Phil Scott 0-47

Ben Field - undefeated half century for The TownPembroke Dock Batting:
Declan Scourfield ct Simon Holliday b Danny Potter 4
George Kingdom run out 8
Callum Power not out 32
Tom Pritchard b Danny Potter 6
Nathan Sutton b Kieran O’Connor 2
Phil Scott st Huw Scriven b  Danny Potter 3
Extras 11
Total (5 wickets) 66

Haverfordwest A Bowling:
Simon Holliday 0-15; Nigel Delaney 0-6; Danny Potter 3-13; Ben Field 0-16; Kieran O’Connor 1-4


Game Two: Neyland B (27 all out) lost to Haverfordwest A (28 for 2)

Danny Potter - unlikely star bowlerNeyland B elected to bat first against Haverfordwest A but were soon in trouble as wickets fell at regular intervals so that top scorers Geraint Rees and Rodney Murphy could only score eight runs apiece.

Town skipper Danny Potter was again the surprise strike bowler with a 2 for 3 haul as Holliday, Field and O’Connor were also on the wicket-takers’ list.

Chasing 28 to win, The Town gave a chance to lower order batsmen Huw Scriven and Kieran O’Connor; the former getting himself bowled for a duck by Tom Pritchard.

Potter was less than happy at being run out and it was left to Nigel Delaney to join O’Connor in taking their side to a comfortable win.


Neyland A Batting:

Callum Power b Simon Holliday 4
Geraint Rees ct Huw Scriven b Kieran O’Connor 8
Steve Murray run out 0
Nathan Sutton lbw b Danny Potter 1
Rodney Murphy b Danny Potter 8
Tom Pritchard b Ben Field 4
Extras 2
Total (all out) 27

Haverfordwest A Bowling:
Simon Holliday 1-6; Nigel Delaney 0-4; Kieran O’Connor 1-5; Danny Potter 2-3; Ben Field 1-5

Haverfordwest A Batting:
Huw Scriven b Tom Pritchard 0
Kieran O’Connor not out 7
Danny Potter run out 6
Nigel Delaney not out 6
Extras 9
Total (2 wickets) 28

Neyland B Bowling:
Tom Pritchard 1-3; Steve Murray 0-4; Geraint Rees 0-12

Game Three – Pembroke Dock (94 for 2) lost to Neyland B (95 for 1)

The final game was more evenly matched as Neyland B did well to chase down Pembroke Dock’s decent tally of 94 for 2.

George Kingdom (27) and guest player Nathan Sutton (40 not out) were joined by Phil Scott (17 not out) in taking The Dock close to three figures after Declan Scourfield had departed early, with Geraint Rees the pick of the Neyland bowlers.

Rees then batted really well before retiring on 31 and although Steve Murray was run out for 13 some good batting by Rodney Murphy (21 not out) and Tom Pritchard (18 not out) saw Neyland home, assisted by 17 runs from ‘Mr Extras’.


Pembroke Dock Batting:
Declan Scourfield run out 6
George Kingdom b Geraint Rees 27
Nathan Sutton not out 40
Phil Scott not out 17
Extras 4
Total (2 wickets) 94

Neyland B Bowling:
Geraint Rees 1-20; Tom Pritchard 0-26; Rodney Murphy 0-24; Steve Murray 0-24

Neyland B Batting:
Geraint Rees retired 31
Steve Murray run out 13
Rodney Murphy not out 21
Tom Pritchard not out 18
Extras 12
Total (1 wicket) 95

Pembroke Dock Bowling:
Phil Scott 0-29; Declan Scourfield 0-23; Nathan Sutton 0-27; George Kingdom 0-16