Indoor Cricket - Round 3

Pembroke Dock CC


Scott steers The Dock to another two wins


Participating clubs: Pembroke Dock, Neyland B and Neyland C
Venue: Neyland Hub
Umpires: Allan Hansen, Ian Milsom and Martin Jones
Scorer: Sean Hannon
Scoreboard operator: Peter Davies
Pembroke Dock maintained their good start to the 2020 Indoor Cricket League campaign as they comfortably beat the Neyland C and B teams to give them a 100% start after four games.
Neyland B were boosted by the return of experienced campaigner Gregg Miller, who guided the club to some of its indoor glory ‘up the line’ some years ago and remains a fierce competitor – whilst The Dock had Scott Griffiths in form again with both bat and ball.


Neyland C


Match One 

Pembroke Dock (128 for 2) beat Neyland C (81 for 5)

Nick Daley and George Smith got The Dock off to a solid start before the former was bowled by Nathan Sutton for 15, including a straight six and four, and Scott Griffiths joined the fray with some powerful hitting before he retired with a six and two fours to his name, as did Billy Wood (27, including five fours).

Smith also retired but returned at the back end of the innings to end up with an unbeaten 30, two sixes and two fours), as ‘Mr Extras’ also contributed 21 runs to an impressive tally of 128 for only two wickets.

Neyland under pressure from the outset but Power and John batted well

Neyland C suffered an immediate set-back to their innings as Ben Mathias-Milsom was run out without scoring and although Callum Power and Jake John batted well they fell behind the clock against tight bowling by Smith, Daley and Wood.

Power was run out for 26, including a six and four, whilst John top scored with 34 (four sixes) before Smith took a good catch off Daley.

Nathan Sutton scored 14 but Sam Laugharne and Ian Milsom were unable to add to the tally, both coming and going as they had three run outs in four balls under the pressure built up by The Dock, who were good value for victory by 47 runs.


Pembroke Dock Batting:
Nick Daley b Nathan Sutton 15
George Smith not out 30
Scott Griffiths retired 28
Billy Wood retired 28
Archie Hillier-Wood run out 4
John Camani not out 3
Extras 20
Total (2 wickets) 128
Neyland C Bowling:
Jack John 2-0-17-0; Ben Mathias-Milsom 2-0-20-0; Nathan Sutton 2-0-29-1; Ian Milsom 2-0-16-0; Sam Laugharne 2-0-30-0
Neyland C Batting:
Callum Power run out 26
Ben Mathias-Milsom run out 0
Jack John ct George Smith b Nick Daley 34
Nathan Sutton ct Nick Daley b Billy Wood 14
Sam Laugharne run out 0
Ian Milsom run out 0
Extras 7
Total (5 wickets) 81
Pembroke Dock Bowling:
John Camani 2-0-19-1; Scott Griffiths 2-0-27-0; George Smith 2-0-13-0; Nick Daley 2-0-11-1; Billy Wood 1.1-0-8-1

Neyland B


Match Two

Pembroke Dock (97 all out) beat Neyland B (33 all out)

The Dock made it four wins in as many matches by a huge margin over Neyland B, who looked strong on paper but collapsed to 33 all out after The Dock had mustered 97 all out but must have expected a stronger challenge.

Billy Wood was run out for a duck at the start of the innings but John Davies contributed 12 before Scott Griffiths and George Smith took charge, with the former hitting 32 (one six and two fours) alongside Smith’s 22 (one six and one four) before they were both run out.

Nick Daley was also run out for 14 and John Camani added 12 runs to a reasonable score for The Dock without posing too great a challenge.

Neyland collapse after Gregg's early demise

But Neyland B lost the key wicket of Gregg Miller for 5, something that hasn’t happened too often in a long career and younger brother Paul could only muster 7 runs, so with Lewis Page also run out with a run to his name they were in trouble.

Filgi Varghese managed double figures as he struck his team’s only six but then departed to George Smith, well caught by Davies.

Rodney Murphy was also run out for 8 runs and The Dock deserve a mention for not conceding a single extra as Scott Griffiths (2 for 5), Smith (1 for 4) and Wood (only seven runs from his nine deliveries) ensured that Neyland B were shot out in only 6.3 of their allotted ten overs!



Pembroke Dock Batting:
John Davies ct Gregg Miller b Paul Miller 12
Billy Wood run out 0
Scott Griffiths run out 32
George Smith run out 22
Nick Daley run out 14
John Camani b Lewis Page 12
Extras 5
Total (all out) 97
Neyland B Bowling:
Gregg Miller 2-0-24-0; Paul Miller 2-0-27-0; Filgi Varghese 2-0-18-0; Rodney Murphy 2-0-19-0; Lewis Page 2-0-16-0
Neyland B Batting:
Gregg Miller run out 5
Paul Miller ct Billy Wood b Scott Griffiths 7
Lewis Page run out 0
Filgi Varghese ct John Davies b George Smith 10
Gavin Rowlands ct & b Scott Griffiths 3
Rodney Murphy run out 8
Extras 0
Total (all out) 33
Pembroke Dock Bowling:
John Camani 2-0-17-0; Scott Griffiths 2-0-5-2; Billy Wood 1.3-0-7-0; George Smith 1-0-4-1

Match Three

Neyland B (85 for 3) beat Neyland C (83 all out)


Scorer Sean HannonUmpire Allan HansenNeyland B bounced back to confirm their pedigree against their B team, winning with ten balls in hand as Gregg Miller and Rodney Murphy led their batting and Miller earned the ‘man of the game’ tag by picking up 3 for 13 in his two overs.

Put in to bat, Neyland C were soon in trouble as Filgi Varghese took return catches to dismiss openers Callum Power and Ben Mathias-Milsom.

Jack John chipped in with 15 runs before Gavin Rowlands caught him off Gregg Miller and after Paul Miller shifted Joe Campodonic for 9 runs his big brother got rid of Rhys Power for 8 and ended the innings with the wicket of Nathan Sutton, who certainly gave the total some respectability with a hard-hitting 27 (one six and a four).

B team keep their composure after Rowlands’ early loss

Gregg Miller started the B team’s response well before he retired on 27 (one six and a four) and there were double figures from Varghese (10) before a productive last wicket stand between Lewis Page (10 not out) and last-man Rodney Murphy (two fours in his speedy 21 not out) helped Neyland B to victory with Miller G waiting in the wings ready to return if either had been out!



Neyland C Batting:
Callum Power ct & b Filgi Varghese 5
Ben Mathias-Milsom ct & b Filgi Varghese 2
Jack John ct Gavin Rowlands b Gregg Miller 15
Joe Campodonic ct & b Paul Miller 9
Nathan Sutton b Gregg Miller 27
Rhys Power b Gregg Miller 8
Extras 17
Total (all out) 83
Neyland B Bowling:
Filgi Varghese 2-0-16-2; Paul Miller 2-0-23-1; Gregg Miller 2-0-13-3; Rodney Murphy 2-0-23-0; Lewis Page 1-0-6-0
Neyland B Batting:
Gavin Rowlands ct Rhys Power b Jack John 1
Gregg Miller retired 27
Filgi Varghese ct Nathan Banner b Joe Campodonic 10
Paul Miller ct Jack John b Joe Campodonic 7
Lewis Page not out 10
Rodney Murphy not out 21
Extras 9
Total (3 wickets) 85
Neyland C Bowling:
Jack John 2-0-14-1; Rhys Power 1.4-0-13-0; Ben Mathias-Milsom 1-0-15-0; Joe Campodonic 2-0-15-2; Nathan Sutton 2-0-28-0