Davies drives Carew to Jubilee success

Tom Davies took two wickets and struck a half century for Carew

Tom Davies took two wickets and struck a half century for Carew
Nick Koomen struck 64 for Neyland


Jubilee Cup:


Neyland (147-6) lost to Carew (148-4) by 6 wickets

Venue: The Athletic Ground, Neyland
Umpires: John Williams and Robert Ridge
Scorers: John Laugharne and Julie Davies
An unbeaten half century from Tom Davies ensured the re-arranged 2017 Jubilee Cup went the way of Carew last night as The Rooks defied fading light to beat Neyland at The Athletic Club.
After being put into bat, the hosts were restricted to 147-6, despite 64 from Nick Koomen, but then Carew began their chase at a rapid rate as openers Tim Hicks and Shaun Whitfield put on 67 inside seven overs.
And although Sean Hannon’s side fought back, it was Davies who finished 52 not out, to go with figures of 2-19 with the ball, to guide The Rooks home with eight balls to spare.

Neyland struggle early on but battle hard

Nick Koomen struck 64 for NeylandHeavy showers earlier in the day made for tricky batting conditions for both sides, although Paul Murray got Neyland going early on as he hooked two fours off Tudor Hurle in the second over.
But Murray (9) soon fell, getting an inside edge onto his stumps off Max Brindley, who was then denied a second wicket when he had Patrick Bellerby caught behind – only to be called for a no ball.
Bellerby, however, soon fell for 18 (two fours) as he was skittled playing across the line to Hurle, before No 3 Scott Jones and Koomen took Neyland to 72-2 in 10 overs before Jones was then trapped LBW to Davies for 23 (four fours), but Koomen looked at his innovative best, cracking the first six of the innings off Shaun Whitfield before bringing up his 50 in the 16th over.

Carew regain the initiative

But Carew regained the initiative in the closing overs, as Whitfield had Andrew Miller (16) caught by keeper Tom Scourfield, and Davies deceived Henry Durrant (1) with a slower ball.

Koomen was sixth man out after nine fours and a maximum in his 64, also bowled by Whitfield as he looked to go big late on – and it was left to George Evans (10 not out) and skipper Hannon (4 not out) to push their side up to 147-6.
For Carew, Brindley finished with 1-28, Hurle 1-26, Davies 2-19, Whitfield 2-39 and Rob Scourfield 0-35 – all from four over stints.

Speedy start for The Rooks

When Carew batted, Hicks and Whitfield then wasted little time in going after the target by picking off anything loose as they attacked opening bowlers Patrick Hannon and Koomen.

They reached 59 off just five overs before captain Sean Hannon was forced to turn the reliable slow stuff of Andrew Miller, and suddenly Carew’s momentum was checked when a mix up saw Whitfield run out for 38 (seven fours).
Hicks soon followed as he came down the track to Miller and was bowled for 25 (three fours), and as Davies and Scourfield got settled, at the half way mark Carew were 72-2 and suddenly the contest was back in the balance.

Carew defy worsening conditions as Davies leads the way

Their cause wasn’t helped by frequent drizzle and deteriorating light, with Scourfield falling for 4 as he nicked a Durrant delivery to keeper Hannon, but then Luke Hicks helped increase the rate with a quick 16, including a four and a six, before being bowled by Koomen.
That left Carew needing 33 off 25 balls, but by this point Davies was well set and he then began to accelerate – hitting successive fours of Geraint Rees in the 18th over.
And then with 13 needed off 12 balls, Davies only used four of them as he hammered Koomen for two straight sixes to move to 51 not out, before taking a single with Nick Davies (2 not out) to finish matters.
For Neyland, Patrick Hannon finished 0-36, Koomen 1-47, Miller 1-11, Durrant 1-30 and Rees 0-23.

Hall receives penultimate Jubilee Cup

It meant the penultimate Jubilee Cup, traditionally contested between the Division One and Harrison Allen Bowl winners, was presented afterwards to Carew captain Brian Hall, whose side are almost certain to add the Division Two trophy to that this weekend if they win at Hook.
The 2018 Jubilee Cup meanwhile, scheduled for Sunday, September 2nd, will be the last after the Pembroke County Cricket Club confirmed last week it would cease to run from next season onwards.
Neyland Batting:

Paul Murray b Max Brindley 9
Patrick Bellerby b Tudor Hurle 18
Scott Jones lbw b Tom Davies 23
Nick Koomen b Shaun Whitfield 64
Andrew Miller ct Tom Scourfield b Shaun Whitfield 16
Henry Durrant b Tom Davies 1
George Evans not out 10
Sean Hannon not out 4
Extras 2
Total (6 wickets) 147
Carew Bowling:
Max Brindley 4-0-28-1; Tudor Hurle 4-0-26-1; Tom Davies 4-0-19-2; Rob Scourfield 4-0-35-0; Shaun Whitfield 4-0-39-2
Carew Batting:
Tim Hicks b Andrew Miller 25
Shaun Whitfield run out 38
Tom Davies not out 52
Tom Scourfield ct Sean Hannon b Henry Durrant 4
Luke Hicks b Nick Koomen 16
Nick Davies not out 2
Extras 11
Total (4 wickets) 148
Neyland Bowling:
Patrick Hannon 4-0-36-0; Nick Koomen 3.4-0-47-1; Andrew Miller 4-0-11-1; Henry Durrant 4-0-11-1; Geraint Rees 3-0-23-0