Danny boy is spot on for the Bluebirds against the Students

Danny Williams


Cardiff Met 1 – Haverfordwest County 3

New boys Haverfordwest County gained an impressive victory over fellow Cymru Premier Cardiff Met University team at Cyncoed behind closed doors.

This was the Bluebirds’ first competitive game for five months due to the COVID pandemic.

Manager Wayne Jones will be delighted with the result as he rotated his squad against a not a full strength students squad.

The visitors got off to a flyer as they led 2-0 in the opening six minutes. They opened the scoring in the first minute when a dangerous free kick by new signing Cameron Keetch was met with a far past tap-in for Scott Tancock.

Five minutes later the visitors were awarded a penalty when Ben Fawcett was brought down inside the box. Up stepped Danny Williams, on loan from Cardiff City, he duly confidently despatched.

Goalkeeper Steve Hall pulled off two superb saves in the 25th and 28th minutes to deny the Students.
The visitors were extremely good value for their two-goal cushion at the break.

Manager Jones introduced all his substitutes at the start of the second period with cameos for keeper Wojciech Gajda, Kurtis Rees, Elliot Thomas and Jack Wilson in heavy rain.

In the 75th minute the visitors were unluck not to add to their tally, an excellent cross from Wilson fell to Miles John who agonisingly missed at the far post.

Wilson made amends as the super sub broke clear and calmly slotted past the keeper for his side’s third.
The Met gabbed a late consolation when Wojciech Gajda was lobbed from 30 yards out.

Wayne Jones said: “Obviously the boys were a bit rusty, but I’m pleased that the boys put a good shift in. Cardiff Met were nowhere near full strength, but it was good to give our squad a run out with the season just around the corner.”

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall, Miles John, Ricky Watts, Scott Tancock, Alaric Jones, Cameron Keetch, Kieran Lewis, Jack Britton, Corey Shephard, Danny Williams, Ben Fawcett.
Substitutes (all used): Wojciech Gajda, Kurtis Rees, Elliot Thomas, Jack Wilson.