County celebrates superb success against The MCC by Bill Carne

Pembroke County Cricket Club

Friendly Cricket Match:


Pembroke County Cricket Club (183 for 6) beat MCC (182 all out) by 4 wickets

Umpires: Bob Fisher (Swansea Civil Service) & Gareth Brace (Pembrokeshire)
Scorer: John Laugharne
Venue: Imble Lane, Pembroke Dock
Brad McDermott-Jenkins receives his county cap from president Nick EvansPembroke County Cricket Club’s talented young team claimed a big scalp on Tuesday at a sun-baked Imble Lane, Pembroke Dock as they beat an MCC team selected from players around South Wales and the South-West of England.

Organised and captained by Paul Rees (Pontarddulais) the MCC team won the toss and elected to bat on a terrific track to finally start a game that had been postponed because of bad weather but was played out on the hottest day of the year.
Owen Alsop, who had travelled from Wiltshire to play, showed his class early on with some lovely shots that produced seven boundaries but he lost JJ Davies (9) and Charles Griffiths (0) to 16 year old fast bowler Joe Phillips in an impressive seven-over opening stint that earned him figures of 2 for 24.
But Alsop finally departed for 36 as he was caught by Toby Hayman off Ross Hardy, who also bowled Matthew Burton (43) in his 2 for 28 spell of seven overs – and when Ioan Phillips (22) was bowled by Kurtis Marsh the visitors looked a little shaky on 57 for 4.
But then Burton found a willing ally in Andrew Leering, who plays in Warwickshire, as they added 67 runs as anything hit past the fielder almost guaranteed a boundary on a lightning-quick outfield.
Marsh earned figures of 3 for 23 in his productive spell and although John Davies managed an unbeaten 24 it was Brad McDermott-Jenkins who had the final word to end with 3 for 25 as he clean bowled Tom Morgan and Daf Davies in successive balls and although denied the hat-trick by Paul Rees he bowled the MCC skipper two balls later to limit them to 182 all out.

Toby Hayman is awarded his county cap by Richard MerrimanCounty club gives chase – and Ryan runs riot at the end!

Toby Hayman and Kurtis Marsh gave the county team a decent start with 20 runs in the opening three overs but then Hayman (9) drove a ball straight to mid-off Fisher to give Daf Davies a wicket.
Ashley Sutton contributed 14 runs before he fell to Rees but then Patrick Bellerby and Marsh took control until the latter finally departed for 47, including five fours and a six - and Jonathan Thomas was adjudged lbw without scoring as the MCC tried to claw their way back.
Ross Hardy (14) and Brad McDermott-Jenkins (7) both fell to JJ Davies but then Ryan Lewis, who was very much the senior statesman of the county team, came in at No 8 and completely changed things with a typically robust 40 not out in 21 balls, including four fours and three sixes.
Bellerby was also there at the end with three fours and a six in his excellent 43 not out – and the Pembroke County Cricket Club were home and dry with four wickets, and 3.4 overs, still in hand.

High praise from Hon Sec Steve – and a memorable moment for Brad and Toby

Steve Blowes, the county club’s hon secretary, told afterwards:
“We would like to thank Paul Rees and his MCC team for travelling down and giving us a great game – and to groundsman Maurice Leyland and the rest of the helpers at Pembroke Dock Cricket Club for providing splendid facilities and as warm a welcome as we could have wished for. Thanks also go to umpires Bob Fisher and Gareth Brace – and to John Laugharne for scoring on his own throughout a hot afternoon.
There was also a special moment for two of the county players afterwards as Brad McDermott-Jenkins and Toby Hayman were presented with their county club caps by Nick Evans (president) and Richard Merriman (chairman).
We at would like to congratulate both cricketers on their deserved honour.


MCC Batting:
Owen Alsop (Teme Town, Wiltshire) ct Toby Hayman b Ross Hardy 36
JJ Davies (Vale, Cardiff) lbw b Joe Phillips 9
Charles Griffiths (St Fagans) b Joe Phillips 0
Matthew Burton (Sudbrook, Gwent) b Ross Hardy 43
Ioan Phillips (Pontarddulais) b Kurtis Marsh
Andrew Leering (Kenilworth Wardens, Warwickshire) b Kurtis Marsh 35
Adam Fisher (Wimbleton) b Kurtis Marsh 7
John Davies (Radyr) not out 24
Tom Morgan (Lisvane) b Brad McDermott-Jenkins 8
Daf Davies (Pontarddulais) b Brad McDermott-Jenkins 0
Paul Rees (Pontarddulais) b Brad McDermott-Jenkins 1
Extras 5
Total (all out) 182
PCCC Bowling
Joe Phillips 7-1-24-2; Jamie Lewis 5-0-33-0; Ross Hardy 7-0-28-2; Ryan Lewis 7-0-26-0; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 6-0-25-3; Kurtis Marsh 6-0-23-3; Jonathan Thomas 2-0-22-0
PCCC Batting:
Toby Hayman (Burton) ct Adam Fisher b Daf Davies 9
Kurtis Marsh (Lawrenny) ct Tom Morgan b Ioan Phillips 47
Ashley Sutton (Neyland) ct Owen Alsop b Paul Rees 14
Patrick Bellerby (Neyland) not out 43
Jonathan Thomas (Whitland) lbw b Ioan Phillips 0
Ross Hardy (Neyland) b JJ Davies 14
Brad McDermott-Jenkins (Neyland) lbw b JJ Davies 7
Ryan Lewis (Cresselly) not out 40
Sean Hannon (Neyland) – did not bat
Jamie Lewis (Lawrenny) – did not bat
Joe Phillips (Llangwm) – did not bat
Extras 9
Total (6 wickets) 183
MCC Bowling:
Daf Davies 7-0-34-1; Tom Morgan 5.2-0-23-0; Charles Griffiths 4-0-28-0; Ioan Phillips 8-0-21-2; Paul Rees 7-0-42-1; JJ Davies 5-0-31-2

Excellent young 12th men - Rhys Daley and George Smith (both Pembroke Dock)

Kurtis Marsh - amongst the runs again


Brad McDermott Jenkins bowls Daf Davies

Scorer: John Laugharne

Umpires - Bob Miles and Gareth Brace