Celebrations galore for Fishguard girl footballers

Fishguard Sports Girls under 14s and under 16s

Fishguard Sports Girls under 14s and under 16s - pic by Johnny Morris

There was a large crowd of proud parents and talented girl footballers in attendance at the Fishguard Bay Hotel for the annual presentation of awards to round off another terrific season for the female section of Fishguard Sports AFC.
With head coach Matthew 'Minty' Lamb officiating the event, ably assisted by second-in-command Zac Davies, the huge number of trophies on the presentation table paid tribute to another successful campaign at local league level as they followed a triple success last season with a 'double double' at under 14 and under 16 levels, where their teams won the league and cup silverware to mark their continued dominance at their respective levels.

Guests enjoy special evening

Also in attendance were club president Nigel Davies, his namesake, who is a committee member, club secretary Steve Jones and well-known local photographer Johnny Morris. Local sports writer Bill Carne opened the official part of the evening by congratulating the players and their coaches, and reminding them how much they owed to their families by asking them to stand up and applaud parents and grandparents for their wonderful support.
He also presented the coaches' trophies from the Welsh FA as community and junior coaches of the year, congratulating Matthew Lamb and Zac Davies alongside Ben Leahy, who was unable to attend.

Younger teams praised

Zac Davies presented the trophies to the under 10 and 12 winners, with the former group all receiving trophies in recognition of their start in the game, as did the under 12s, whose individual  awards were as follows:
Leadership: Abbie Leyshon
Most Improved Player: Holly Sinnott-Cleary
Club Player: Kelly Marie Williams
Player of the Year: Meg Thomas
At under 14 level the respective league and cup trophies from the Pembrokeshire Women's and Girls League were presented by Matthew Lamb to Efa Wilson and Grace Lewis, and praised the overall commitment of the whole squad, before the awards for the age group were announced:
Leadership: Efa Wilson
Most Improved Player: Jessica James
Club Player: Hannah James
Player of the Year: Grace Lewis

Under 16s finish in style

Coach Lamb also announced the winners of the under 16 individual awards after presenting all the players with their mementoes from the Pembrokeshire Women's and Girls League and said that their play set the tone for the younger players to follow.
Their individual awards were as follows:
Leadership: Ffion Kinsella
Most improved Player: Beth Davies
Club Player: Megan Price
Player of the Year: Alisha Taylor

And finally . . .

To round off a smashing evening, there was a video of the season’s special moments before there were special presentations from the younger players at the club to Zac Davies since he has to end his involvement because university beckons, and similar recognition from the older girls to Matthew Lamb.
Then Megan Thomas, from the junior section, was joined by some team-mates in making a special presentation to the 'Supporter of the Year' and had even composed a poem in recognition of the noisy efforts of Lisa Leyshon!
Everyone in attendance was then able to enjoy burger and chips before a disco was provided by club stalwart Gareth Thomas, second team coach and groundsman, to round off a smashing evening!

Fishguard Sports Girls under  10s 

Fishguard Sports Girls under  10s - Pic by Johnny Morris

Fishguard Sports Girls under  12s 

Fishguard Sports Girls under  12s - Pic by Johnny Morris