Carew cruise to victory

Ormond Youth Cup winners Carew

Carew Under 15s - champions

Carew Under 15s - champions
Narberth Under 15s

Scorers Richard Howell and Kerry Waters

Pembroke County Cricket Club Under 15 Junior league Final:


Carew (143 for 4) beat Narberth (95 for 3) by 48 runs

Sponsor: Colin John, - Llewelyn Davies Chartered Accountants
Umpires: Glyn Pawlett & Allan Hansen
Scorers: Kerry Waters & Richard Howell/Ed Pritchard
Coaches: Russell Knox and Richard/Jordan Howell
Venue: St Ishmaels CC
Scorers Richard Howell and Kerry WatersNarberth won the toss and invited Carew to bat – and they could not have wished for a better start with captain Loui Davies bowling Rhys Grigg with the third ball of the game. With Rhodri Dyer keeping things tight at the other end, Narberth kept a close grip of the game in the first four overs.
It was then the experience of the Carew batsmen that paid off with county players Morgan Grieve and Rhys Canton coming to the forefront as they took the attack to the Narberth change bowlers  of  Cameron Pritchard, Josh Lewis and Jake Thomas, playing some excellent shots all around the ground.

Carew build towards a big score

It was only an excellent piece of fielding by Loui Davies, with a direct hit, saw Canton run out for 36 with the score on 89 in the 14th over. Shortly after Grieve retired on a well-constructed 51.
However there was no let up for the Narberth attack as Carl Thomas (29) and Tudor Hurle (16 not out,  including one big six towards the football ground) took Carew to a big score of 143 4 in their 20 overs. For Narberth, Loui Davies ended up with 3-14, and that excellent run out as he worked tirelessly in the field.

Narberth make a steady start

This was always going to be a big ask for the Narberth openers of  Harry Rees and Loui Davies, who themselves played some lovely strokes, but with the Carew attack of Tudor Hurle (0-13) and Elliot Waters (0-15) keeping thing tight, Narberth were soon behind the run rate.
Rees (18) eventually fell lbw to  Carl Thomas but Davies (43 ) and Rhodri Dyer (15) batted well  before falling to the bowling of Morgan Broomhall (2-8) aided by  two very good catches by Rhys Grigg and Tudor Hurle. Cameron Pritchard (10 not out) continued the attack for Narberth who finished on 95 for 3, which left Carew as deserved winners for an all-round team performance.

Post-match thanks

In the post-match presentation Martin Jones (Junior Organiser) thanked St Ishmaels for hosting the final, the umpires (Glyn Pawlett and Allan Hansen),  scorers (Kerry Waters  and Richard Howell/Ed Pritchard) ,  and groundsmen (Mel Williams and Chris Bradshaw).  He also thanked Wendy Bradshaw and Pat Williams for supplying a tremendous tea for the players after the game. He congratulated both sides on getting to the final with both teams being a credit to themselves, their clubs and coaches and the way the game was played in a competitive manner but in an excellent spirit and good sportsmanship.
The plaques and runners-up shield were presented by Colin John, League Sponsor, who was thanked again for his generous support of Pembrokeshire Cricket. It was also good to see the County Chairman and his wife, Paul and Janice Webb, supporting the final.

Traditions maintained

The winners’ trophy was donated by the late Stan Richards and John Bowen families 43 years ago. In fact over the 43 years, approximately 950 youngsters had played in the final, let alone those in the league games.
Continuing the family tradition, fourth generation Ollie Rees, aged 10, presented the trophy to Morgan Grieve, the captain of Carew. It's worth noting that young Ollie, himself a keen sportsman, played in the Under 11 final the night before for Hook CC.
Narberth: Loui Davies (Capt), Jamie Goldsworthy; Rhodri Dyer, Harry Rees,
Cameron Pritchard, Josh Lewis, Ieuan Barnes, Jake Thomas, Brandon Williams, Lee Peters, Sam Davies, Jacob Roure.

Carew:  Morgan Grieve (Capt), Elliot Waters, Rhys Grigg, Rhys Canton, Carl Thomas, Tudor Hurle, Morgan Broomhall, Arran Hinman, Jay Morris and Cameron Broadhurst.