Alec Colley Cup - semi-finals reports


Great wins for Cresselly and Neyland

It is Cresselly Seconds and their counterparts from Neyland who will do battle at The Treleet Ground, Pembroke, for this year’s popular competition for second teams, on Sunday, 15th August.
Cresselly proved too strong for Hook and Neyland won well against Saundersfoot and both will take experienced squads in to the big day, with the added bonus that they will include in the mix some very promising young players too!

Scott steers Cresselly to nine-wicket win


Cresselly 2nds (134 for 1) beat Hook 2nds (135 for 8) by 9 wickets

Umpires: Ian Milsom & Allan Hansen
Scorers: Jess Lewis & Jon Willington
Venue: The Lewis Lloyd Ground, Narberth
Scott Arthur 73 not out for Cresselly 2ndsChristian Phillips 35 not out for Cresselly 2ndsVeteran opener Jamie Phelps (18, including two fours and a six) and teenager George James five fours and a six in his top score of 33) gave Hook a solid start but both fell to wily campaigner Christian Phillips, who struck two further vital blows as he shifted Brennan Martin and Oscar Willington for ducks in his excellent 4 for 3 spell in five overs.
Liam Miller, three fours and a six in his 32), another very talented teenager in the Hook camp, joined forces with experienced keeper William Goronwy (21, including four fours) in taking Hook past three figures before they fell respectively to the father and son duo of Matthew (2 for 29) and Corey (2 for 22) Lewis.
Corey had earlier claimed the vital wicket of big hitter Dafydd Bowen (8) with the assistance of a good catch by older brother Morgan and although there was 10 not out from Peter Franklin and 11 extras they had to settle for 135 for 8 on a good Narberth pitch.
Hook hopes were raised at the start of the Cresselly innings as 15 year old Oscar Willington sped in to bowl Neal Williams (6) but from then on it was Cresselly who took charge via  Scott Arthur and Christian Phillips.
Arthur smashed 12 boundaries in his 73 not out, which was made from 55 deliveries, and Phillips supported with four fours in his 35 not out, whilst ‘Mr Extras’ chipped in with 30, (including 25 wides) as Cresselly reached their target in 16.3 of their allotted 20 overs.
Hook 2nds Batting:
Jamie Phelps ct & b Christian Phillips 18
George James ct Scott Arthur b Christian Phillips 33
Dafydd Bowen ct Morgan Lewis b Corey Lewis 8
Brennan Martin ct Corey Lewis b Christian Phillips 0
Oscar Willington b Christian Phillips 0
Liam Miller st Neal Williams b Matthew Lewis 32
William Goronwy b Corey Lewis 21
Peter Franklin not out 10
Andrew Thomas b Matthew Lewis 0
Extras 13
Total (8 wickets) 135
Cresselly 2nds Bowling:
Morgan Lewis 5-1-31-0; Christian Phillips 5-0-33-4; Corey Lewis 3-0-22-2; Matthew Lewis 5-0-29-2; Josh Lewis 1-0-17-0
Cresselly 2nds Batting:
Scott Arthur not out 73
Neal Williams b Oscar Willington 6
Christian Phillips not out 25
Extras 30
Total (1 wicket) 134
Hook 2nds Bowling:
Brennan Martin 5-0-46-0; Oscar Willington 5-1-29-1; Rhys Phelps 3.3-0-19-0; Andrew Thomas 3-0-32-0

Seasiders stumble as Miller leads Neyland to victory


Saundersfoot 2nds (102 for 9) lost to Neyland 2nds (105 for 2) by 8 wickets

Umpires: Neil Thomas & Chris Stapleton
Scorers: Roger Stanford & Jenny Seaton
Venue: Carew CC
Gregg Miller 53 not out for Neyland 2ndsGeorge Evans cracked 37 runs for Neyland 2ndsNeyland Seconds reached their second Alec Colley Cup Final in three years as they beat a Saundersfoot 2nds side that simply didn’t make enough runs on the night – and Gregg Miller and George Evans guided their side to a repeat of  2019, when they beat Cresselly to take the silverware.
The Seasiders made an awful start as Luke Page ran out anchor man Steve Cook and No 3 batsman Simon Stanford was bowled by Jack Jones without scoring in the first over of the match.
Phil Jones (12) joined key man James Caine in steadying the Saundersfoot ship a bit but was also beaten by Jones’s pace before Jack Franklin also fell victim to Page’s fielding skills, run out.
The Seasiders were always going to rely on James Caine’s ability to score big runs but after striking two fours and a six he followed many other good batsmen over the years by being bowled by off spinner Gary Lloyd for 30 – and although there were double figures for Joshua Samuel (16) and Nav Kawale (two sixes in his 16) the combined efforts of Jack John (2 for 10), Jamie Smith (2 for 20) and Tom Pritchard (2 for 41) alongside Lloyd saw Saundersfoot restricted to 102 for 9 in their 20 overs.
Neyland also lost an early wicket to Kevin Sykes as Will Hughes (7) fell to a superb diving catch by veteran keeper Phil Jones – but Gregg Miller and George Evans shared a stand of 74 before Evans departed to Jack Franklin for 37 (five fours and a six) with the winning post in sight.
Luke Page was there when Gregg Miller saw Neyland home with five fours and two sixes in his 53 not out, and with four wickets still in hand.
  • So Miller could find himself playing in the Alec Colley Cup Final on 15th August and on this sort of form could also play for the first team in the Harrison-Allen Bowl two weeks later – something that has happened in the past but very rarely indeed!
Saundersfoot Seconds Batting:
Steve Cook run out 2
James Caine b Gary Lloyd 30
Simon Stanford b Jack Jones 0
Phil Jones b Jack Jones 12
Jack Franklin run out 5
Paul Morris ct & b Tom Pritchard 2
Joshua Samuel b Jamie Smith 15
Nav Kawale b Tom Pritchard 16
R Richards
Aryan Kawale
Total (9 wickets) 102
Neyland Seconds Bowling:
Jack John 5-0-10-2; Jamie Smith 5-0-20-2; Gary Lloyd 5-0-26-1; Tom Pritchard 5-0-41-0
Neyland Seconds Batting:
Will Hughes ct Phil Jones b Kevin Sykes 7
Gregg Miller not out 53
George Evans ct R Richards b Jack Franklin 37
Luke Ryan not out 2
Extras 6
Total (2 wickets) 105
Saundersfoot Seconds Bowling:
Nav Kawale 5-0-30-0; Kevin Sykes 4-0-21-0; Simon Stanford 2-0-18-0; Jack Franklin 4-0-28-1; Joshua Samuels 1-0-7-0