Aberaeron stroll into their first Pembs KO Cup Final

Rhodri Jenkins (17 points) and Bruce Gaskell (man of the match) as Aber go though


Pembrokeshire Knock Out Cup Semi-Final:


Pembroke 5 - Aberaeron 42

Morgan Llewellyn - Aberaeron skipper grabbed first two tries of the matchAberaeron created a little piece of club history as their deserved win over Pembroke at Crickmarren saw them gain entry to the final of the Pembrokeshire Knock Out Cup for the first time, where they will take on Tenby United at a date and venue to be decided.
Aber had assured themselves entry to the county’s big day as they led 28-0 at half time and although The Scarlets never gave up the battle they could have few complaints as their pack held their own in the set-pieces but found it hard going against Aber’s pacy backs as the visitors scored six tries to Pembroke’s solitary second half try by veteran second row Dai Beynon.

Skipper Llewellyn leads with two quick tries

Up front, Pembroke had no shortage of effort as skipper Lloyd Thomas led by example and was closely followed by veterans Seamus Wiseman, Johnny Palmer, Scott Powell and Will Edwards but Aber soon established superiority behind the scrum as full back Morgan Llewellyn cut through for their first try – and the skipper repeated the score soon afterwards,  with centre Rhodri Jenkins adding the extra points to both,
Jenkins was again involved in Aber’s third score as he received the ball from a solid platform just outside the 22 and broke clear to the posts before slotting the conversion, as he did when No 8 Will James crashed over from close range to give Aber that huge interval advantage.

Dai Beynon - grabbed only try for Scarlets as reward for hard workAber make sure with their fifth try

Aber also made a good start to the second half with a good try from pacy winger Steff ‘DJ’ John which Jenkins converted but with Robin Badham, Barry Alderman-John, Charlie Sheils and Rhys Johns working hard The Scarlets finally broke their points’ duck when Beynon crashed over for an unconverted try as reward for his involvement.
But Aber had the final word when Steff John raced through for his second score, with Jenkins converting to take his personal points haul to 17 – and see Aberaeron to a famous victory where flanker Bruce Gaskell was chosen as their man of the match for his support play and ball-winning capacity.

Scarlets’ Simon says it all

It was no more than they deserved and as Pembroke’s team manager Simon Edwards told PembrokeshireSport.co.uk
“I can’t fault our efforts, especially up front, but Aberaeron were just too quick and streetwise for us so we wish them well for their big day – and we’ll go back to trying to develop the young talent that we have at our club.”
Edwards knows his rugby onions as one of the longest-serving captains at Crickmarren and we can only agree with his assessment – and wish Aberaeron a great day out against another club that likes to play attractive rugby in Tenby United, whatever the result, as they embark on their first chance of playing on this ‘Blue Riband’ day of Pembrokeshire Rugby!
Pembroke:  Lewis Davies: Darcy Langstone; Charlie Sheils; Rhys Johns; Barry Alderman-John: Luke Alderwick; Richard McNally:  Lloyd Davies (Capt); Seamus Wiseman; Johnny Palmer: Scott Powell; Dai Beynon; Will Edwards; Leon Stewart; Robin Badham. Replacements: Tom Cabot; Peter Muller; Simon Stanford; T Mathias; Zach Evans; Harry Turner.
Aberaeron: Morgan Llewellyn: Matthew Harries; Dyfrig Dafis; Rhodri Jenkins; Steff John: Steff Rees; Osian Watson: Ceri Davies; Sion Evans; Ryan Williams: Richard Francis; Llyr Davies: Bruce Gaskell; Hefin Williams; Will James. Replacements: Rhys Jones; Bobby Jones; Steffan Dale; Gethin Dafis; Osian Davies; Tudur Jenkins; Ifan Davies.