Ten-man Bluebirds comfotably beaten by impressive Nomads

Midfielder Tyrese Owen pushes forward for The Bluebirds against The Nomads 


JD Cymru Premier


Haverfordwest County 1 – Connah’s Quay Nomads 3

High flying Connah’s Quay Nomads picked up a thoroughly deserved victory against ten-man Haverfordwest County at the Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium.
Ben Nash gave the visitors the lead just before the break, on the hour mark the Bluebirds were down to ten men as Martell Taylor-Crossdale received his marching orders, ten minutes from full time Harry Franklin added the second before substitute Rhys Stratulis was on target with a sensational third near full time, then deep in stoppage time substitute Jack Wilson scored a consolation for the Bluebirds.
This was the Nomads’ fourth straight win as they sit second in the table two points behind leaders TNS, whilst  the Bluebirds have disappointingly slipped down to second from bottom.
Tony Pennock’s men started brightly as Daniel Hawkins forced a good save from Jonathan Ruston, midway through the half a quick counter break led to Martell Taylor-Crossdale who struck low effort saved by Rushton.
The hosts continued to press as the Nomads sat deep, but well organised as Kayden Williams-Lowe had his shot from inside the box blocked. Centre back Lee Jenkins had a header blocked at far post from a corner.
In the 42nd minute the visitors broke the deadlock as Callum Bratley’s cross isn’t dealt with which allows Nash a simple tap-in.
Ten minutes after the break Bluebirds keeper Ifan Knott pulled off a decent save to deny Bratley from inside the box.
On the hour mark the hosts are reduced to ten-men as Taylor-Martell is shown a straight red card for a dangerous foul on Harry Franklin.
On 80 minutes The Nomads added a second as Franklin turned home from close range, late in the game substitute Stratulis scored an absolute worldie from the halfway for his side’s third.
In stoppage time Wilson scored the hosts only goal in a game they were well beaten and can have not complaints at the final whistle.
Haverfordwest County: Ifan Knott, Rhys Abbruzzese, Luke Tabone (Captain), Osgar Borg (76’ Harri John), Lee Jenkins, Ricky Watts, Ben Fawcett (45’ Jack Wilson), Danny Hawkins, Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Tyrese Owen, Kayden Williams-Lowe (76’ Iori Humphreys).
Substitutes not used: Zac Jones, Lucas Davies, Daniel John, Jacob Owen.
Connah’s Quay Nomads: Jonathan Ruston, John Disney (Captain), Ryan Harrington, Jordan Davies (86’ Josh Williams), Callum Bratley, Harry Franklin, Noah Edwards, Ben Nash, Jack Kenny (70’ Michael Wilde), Aron Williams (70’ Daniel Roberts), Kai Edwards (61’ Ryan Stratulis).
Substitutes not used: Joe Lawlor, Callum Morris, Jack Burman.
Referee: Rob Jenkins.
Assistants: Johnathon Bebee-Bryant & Steffan Davies.
Fourth Official: Ben Williams.
Referee Observer: Mark Whitby.