Sisay's strike earns Bluebirds vital win at Barry Town United

Haverforwest County players celebrate

JD Cymru Premier


Barry Town United 0 – Haverfordwest County 1

Haverfordwest County got Phase Two of the season off to a perfect start with a slender one-goal victory against ten-man Barry Town United at Jenner Park.

Alhagi Touray Sisay struck shortly after the break to earn the visitors three hard earned welcome points.

With barely five minutes on the clock the visitors had their first sight at goal as returning skipper Dylan Rees played a ball over the top to the striker who saw his effort from close range saved by Kelland Absalom.

Midway through the first period defender Elliot Scotcher did well to block Jordan Cotterill’s shot from inside the box.

With the very next attack a well worked chance fell to Jordan Davies who saw his low drive saved by Absalom.

Terrific fingertips save

Bluebirds’ keeper Lee Idzi pulled off a terrific fingertip save to deny Marcus Day’s speculative shot to the top corner.

McLaggon failed to control a neat Kavanagh pass in the box, as the danger was cleared.

The hosts continued to press as Idzi got down to quickly deny striker Kavanagh.

Swift counter leads to only goal

Two minutes after the break the visitors finally opened the scoring. A swift counter saw midfielder Corey Shephard thread a precise ball through to Touray Sisay, the striker calmly slotted through the legs of Absalom for his seventh goal of the season.

In the 59th minute Barry got the ball into the net, but it was chalked off as the officials judged the ball hadn’t crossed the line.

Aron Davies’ cross was met by a firm Clayton Green header, but it narrowly missed the target.

The hosts were reduced to ten men when Cotterill received successive yellow cards, but full credit to Gavin Chesterfield’s Barry outfit they kept pushing forward as Kavanagh fired wide.

There were no further scares for Nicky Hayen’s team as the bagged the points and kept a clean sheet in the process.
Barry Town United: Kelland Absalom, Kayne McLaggon (Captain), Jordan Cotterill, Rhys Kavanagh, Marcus Day (45, Jordan Cotterill), Theo Wharton, Curtis McDonald, Rhys Abbruzzese (90, Chris Hugh), Harry Jones (75, Michael George), Luke Cooper, Clayton Green (76, Callum Sainty).
Substitutes not used: Jaedyn Brana, Aron Davies, Evan Press, Mervyn Bennett.
Haverfordwest County: Lee Idzi, Jazz Richards, Elliot Scotcher (72, Alaric Jones), Ricky Watts, Cory Shephard, Jack Wilson, Dylan Rees (Captain), Alhagi Touray Sisay (87, Ben Fawcett), Kyle Patten, Danny Williams, Jordan Davies.
Substitutes not used: Wojcieth Gajda, Kurtis Rees, Ryan George, Iori Humphreys, Caleb Hughes.
Referee: Dean John.
Assistants: Johnathon Bebee-Bryant & Ross Edwards.
Fourth Official: Jordan Harman.

Haverfordwest County manager Nicky Hayen pleased with win at Jenner Park