Red hot Robins too good for Bluebirds

Arron Williams scored twice for Newtown 


JD Cymru Premier


Haverfordwest County 0 – Newtown 4

Ben Fawcett competes in aerial stakesNewtown scored twice in each half as they picked up a thoroughly deserved four-goal victory against Haverfordwest County at the sun drenched Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium.
Goals from Henry Cowans and Arron Williams (2) and substitute Zeli Ismael earned the Robins their second win of the season as they moved up to eighth in the table whilst the Bluebirds slipped to ninth.
After last week’s encouraging win at Colwyn Bay -  Tony Pennock’s men were looking to build on that positive result, but the hosts let in two first half sloppy goals to give themselves a huge mountain to climb in the second period.

It didn't help that it was the hottest Saturday of the year so sensibly there were extra drinks breaks for the players in each half.
In the 17th minute Cowans struck the opener with a low direct free kick from distance which beat goalkeeper Zac Jones diving down to his left.
On 36 minutes the Robins doubled the lead when a high ball in the box was volleyed home by Williams, which gave his side a 2-0 cushion at half time.
Midway through the second period, saw Williams on target with his side’s third, then deep in stoppage time Ismael bagged the fourth and there was no way back for the out of sorts Bluebirds.
Bluebirds’ boss Tony Pennock will feel bitterly disappointed with the final score line, leaking four goals and disappointingly his team didn’t score in front of the home fans.
There’s a long way to go over the course of the season but Haverfordwest County must continue to work hard to try and string some decent performances and results together.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Rhys Abbruzzese, Kai Whitmore, Danny Hawkins, Martell Taylor-Crossdale (61’ Kayden Williams-Lowe), Ben Fawcett, Lee Jenkins, Tyrese Owen (79’ Daniel John), Oscar Borg (61’ Jack Wilson), Iori Humphreys (45’ Harri John), Luke Tabone (Captain).
Substitutes not used: Ifan Knott, Lucas Davies, Seth Woodhouse.
Newtown: Andrew Wycherley, Callum Roberts, Ryan Sears (89’ Macauley Taylor), Shane Sutton (Captain) (89’ Kieran Mills-Evans), Robert Evans (82’ Zeli Ismael), Louis Robles (75’ Jason Oswell), Aaron Williams, Henry Cowans, Matty Jones, George Hughes, Dominic Smith.
Substitute not used: Devon Torry.
Referee: Mark James.
Assistants: Ian Bird and Connor Fowler.
Fourth Official: Ben Williams.
Referee Observer: Edward King.

Tyrese Owen put under pressure in midfield