Lakesiders beat Bluebirds in late goals drama at Ogi Bridge Meadow

Ben Fawcett equalised late for Bluebirds


JD Welsh Premier


Haverfordwest County 2 – Bala Town 3


Haverfordwest County frustratingly lost out in a five-goal thriller against Bala Town where there was a frantic end at the Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium.
This defeat means the Bluebirds are seventh in the table and will play in the second half of the split till the end of the season.
The Bluebirds led 1-0 at half time thanks to Martell Taylor-Crossdale who struck in the 31st minute, but the Lakesiders substitutes made a big impact as three of them grabbed late goals.
Josh Ukek equalised in the 86th minute before the  visitors took the lead in the 96th minute through Iwan Roberts, before more drama followed as Ben Fawcett equalised a minute later as this clash was heading for a draw, - but the visitors claimed a 99th minute winner as Luke Wall found the back of the net.
Sixth-placed Caernarfon Town needed to lose at  Cardiff Met University but it finished 2-2 and the Canaries sealed sixth place by three points from the Bluebirds.
Tony Pennock’s men gave it their best shot, but on the night, they came up short against the resilient Lakesiders who impressively kept pushing until the final whistle.
The Bluebirds will now hope to reproduce some good form to finish at the top of the second-section six come the end of the season.

Haverfordwest County line up to remember former Bluebird Eric James at the Ogi Bridge Meadow Stadium


Before kick-off both teams observed a minute's silence for Eric James, he passed away in Austrailia, the former striker played for the Bluebirds in the 1970s alongside the likes of Ivor Allchurch and Mel Charles. Sincere condolences to his family and friends.

Haverfordwest  County: Zac Jones, Jazz Richards (Captain), Rhys Abbruzzese, Ben Fawcett, Daniel Hawkins, Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Harri John (68’ Jack Wilson), Lee Jenkins, Tyrese Owen (88’ Jacob Owen), Luke Tabone.
Unused substitutes: Ifan Knott, Ricky Watts, Kayden Williams-Lowe, Iori Humphreys, Daniel John.
Bala Town: Kelland Absalom, George Newell, Joe Malkin (82’ Iwan Roberts), Kieran Smith (Captain), Osebi Adadaki (68’ Josh Ukek), Ryan Rogers (65’ Luke Wall), Aeron Edwards, Paulo Mendes, Ross White, Naim Arsan, Ollie Shannon.
Unused substitutes: Keelan Williams, Cesaire Lingouba, Nathan Burke.
Referee: Iwan Griffith.
Assistants: Jordan Christopher & Connor Thomas.
Fourth Official: Alex McInch.
Referee Observer: Edward King.

Tyrese Owen closes in for Haverfordwest County