Injury striken Bluebirds suffer first defeat of season at Undy Athletic

JD Cymru South:

Undy Athletic 1 - Haverfordwest County 0

Sean Pemberton picked up an ankle injuryA James Barnes penalty secured a narrow victory for Undy Athletic against a weakened Haverfordwest County outfit.

In a tight game in Gwent, the visitors took the lead in the 47th minute when Barnes made no mistake from the spot after being brought down by skipper Pemberton inside the box. It was a cast iron penalty, no arguments with the decision.

Frustrating afternoon

It was a frustrating afternoon for The Bluebirds, within eight minutes the visitors could have taken the lead as Jack Wilson fired wide from a resulting one-on-one.

After the break, assistant manager Tim Hicks replaced Pemberton, and the natural predator struck the crossbar twice as Athletic inflicted a first defeat of the season over the visitors.

Injury worries

The Bluebirds squad are currently the walking wounded, Miles John, Elliot Thomas and now Pemberton all out with ankle injuries.

Ben Fawcett is still a couple of weeks away from starting after he fractured his foot earlier in the season, also top scorer Marcus Griffiths wasn’t available, so the Bluebirds were lacking their strike force.

Tyler Brock was replaced by Jake Merry, but still the Wayne Jones’ Haverfordwest County outfit couldn’t find a way past a resistant Undy Athletic defence.

Daniel Alfei has a decent pedigree as he made his debut in defence for Haverfordwest County, last season Alfei played for Llanelli Town, and spent five seasons as a professional with Swansea City.

There was also a welcome return from injury for Ricky Watts, the midfielder has missed the last two games due to an injury to his calf muscle.

Good news

There was some good news as the striker Marcus Griffiths was awarded the JD Cymru South ‘Player of the Month for August’.

On Friday, 13th September, Haverfordwest County entertain Afan Lido at the Bridge Meadow Stadium, kick off is at 7.30pm.

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall, Daniel Alfei, Harri Rowe, Sean Pemberton (Captain) (Tim Hicks 46), Sam Rodon, Scott Tancock, Kieran Rees, Tom Duson, Ricky Watts, Tyler Brock (Jake Merry 59), Jack Wilson.
Substitutes not used: Jake Morgan, Kyle Stuart.