Bluebirds settle for a draw at bottom of table Colwyn Bay

Kai Whitmore - scored a second half header for Haverfordwest County but it was disallowed. 

JD Cymru Premier - Phase 2 Playoff Conference


Colwyn Bay 0 - Haverfordwest County 0

This game proved a stalemate as Haverfordwest County drew with bottom of the table Colwyn Bay at Four Crosses Construction Arena.
It was a frustrating afternoon for Tony Pennock’s Bluebirds as they failed to pick up a win on the road but are still currently four points clear at the top of Phase 2 as second placed Penybont have been deducted six points and fourth placed Pontypridd deducted nine points.
This was definitely a game that Haverfordwest County would have targeted to win but come the final whistle they will have to be satisfied with a point.
Pennock’s men are frustratingly still awaiting their first win in Phase 2 and they must find it from somewhere if they expect to stay top for the remainder of the season.
The Seagulls made a bright start as good work Tommy Creamer who found Matty Hill who struck a firm shot which Bluebirds’ goalkeeper Zac Jones saved.
Jones pulled off another good save to deny Hill’s vicious effort from the edge of the 18 yard box.
On the half hour mark the under pressure Bluebirds had keeper Jones to thank as he kept out efforts from Udi Akpan and Dan Atkins.
Midfielder Corey Shephard picked up a yellow card for a miss timed tackle on Harry Owen, at the other end Lee Jenkins glanced a header wide from a Rhys Abbruzzese free kick - as the score remained goalless at half time.
Jamie Cumming struck a wicked edge of the area volley wide, midway through the second half Kai Whitmore headed into the back of the net from close range for the visitors, but it was ruled out for offside.
A good move between Tommy Creamer and substitute Dan Jones, the latter curled his shot agonisingly wide as both teams settled for a point apiece.
Colwyn Bay: Reese Trueman, Harry Owen, Sam Hart, Stefan Edwards, Cai Owen, Matty Hill, Tom McCready (Captain), Tommy Creamer (Owen Cushion 83’), Jamie Cumming, Dan Atkins (Dan Jones 66’), Udi Akpan.
Unused substitutes: Joe Smith, Sam Downey, Lloyd Marsh-Hughes.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Jazz Richards (Captain), Rhys Abbruzzese, Kai Whitmore (Jacob Owen 88’), Ben Fawcett, Lee Jenkins, Rio Dyer (64’ Martell Taylor-Crossdale,) Aidan McNamara (Ricky Watts 46’), Jack Wilson (Daniel Hawkins 41’), Luke Tabone, Corey Shephard.
Unused substitutes: Ifan Knott, Oscar Borg, Iori Humphreys.
Referee: Thomas Owen.
Assistants: Daniel Beckett & Ashley Davis.
Fourth Official: Huw Jones.
Referee Observer: Kim Fisher.