Bluebirds narrowly beat Seagulls to record first win of season

Martell Taylor-Crossdale who grabbed a late winner for the delighted Bluebirds 


JD Cymru Premier


Colwyn Bay  1 - Haverfordwest County 2

Haverfordwest County came from behind to secure their first win of the season against new boys Colwyn Bay on a hot afternoon at the Four Crosses Construction Arena.
The Seagulls took the lead through a well taken second half goal by Matthew Hill, but the Bluebirds quickly hit back to secure the points as midfielder Kai Whitmore equalised and just three minutes from full time up popped Martell Taylor-Crossdale who grabbed a late winner for the delighted Bluebirds.
Haverfordwest County manager Tony Pennock made two changes from the starting line-up that drew 2-2 at Barry Town United at midweek – in came Iori Humphreys and Harri John respectively for Ricky Watts and Ben Fawcett. Up front for the first time were Daniel Hawkins who was partnered with Martell Taylor-Crossdale.
The visitors started brightly as the workmanlike Whitmore struck two long range efforts over the crossbar, Harri John struck a wicked 25 yard shot which crashed against the crossbar.
After a goalless first period, the Seagulls finally broke the deadlock just before the hour mark when Jamie Cumming flicked an inch perfect header into the path of teammate Matthew Hill, the striker neatly tucked the ball past the advancing goalkeeper Zac Jones.
However, ten minutes later Whitmore equalised following a well-orchestrated move down the right which involved Taylor-Crossdale who played a neat ball to substitute Jack Wilson who unselfishly squared the ball for the advancing midfielder who made no mistake from close range.
It looked odds-on as if this clash was heading for a draw, that was until three minutes from full time the Bluebirds bagged a timely winner as Rhys Abbruzzese’s corner was bundled into the net by Taylor-Crossdale, for his first league goal for the visitors.
Shortly after the final whistle Bluebirds manager Tony Pennock was delighted that his side came from behind to pick up their first win of the season, it was no more than what they deserved on the overall balance of play.
Colwyn Bay: Alfie Brooks, Alexander Downes (captain), Stefan Edwards, Jamie Cumming, Matthew Hill, Nick Rushton (79’ Thomas McCready), Guto Williams (46’ Cai Owen), Samuel Hart, Samuel Turner, Daniel Jones (67’ Dylan Allshorn), Udoyen Akpan, Thomas Marsh-Hughes (46’ Thomas Creamer).
Substitutes not used: Thomas Matt-Hughes, Danny Jones.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Rhys Abbruzzese, Kai Whitmore, Danny Hawkins (60’ Ben Fawcett), Martell Taylor-Crossdale (89’ Daniel John), Harri John (66’ Kayden Williams-Lowe), Lee Jenkins, Tyrese Owen, Oscar Borg, Iori Humphreys (61’ Jack Wilson), Luke Tabone (Captain).
Substitutes not used: Lucas Davies, Seth Woodhouse.
Referee: Rob Jenkins.
Assistants: Connor Thomas & Jordan Christopher.
Fourth Official: Aaron Jones.
Referee: Observer: Nathan Brearley.

Kai Whitmore equalised for Haverfordwest County