Bluebirds are hit for six by impressive Bala Town

Bala Town celebrate scoring another goal against Haverfordwest County

JD Cymru Premier League


Bala Town 6 – Haverfordwest County 2

Bala Town were on fire as they struck six goals against out of sorts Haverfordwest County at Maes Tegid.
Wayne Jones’ side had no answer to the Lakesiders, who put the Bluebirds to the sword, and the visitors are still frustratingly awaiting their first win in the league and have just one point from five games.

The hosts led 4-1 at the break and grabbed two further goals to secure three comfortable points as they sit fourth in the table and Haverfordwest County are sitting uncomfortable in second from bottom.

Edwards scores opener with header

Dave Edwards opened the scoring for the hosts, the striker heading into the far-right corner of Lee Idzi’s net before Callum Woods doubled the lead with a terrific long-range shot which nestled in the far corner.

The Bluebirds struck back as Ben Fawcett made no mistake with a powerful header to get his side back in the game.

But the Lakesiders didn’t have to wait long before they added their third goal, Paul Rutherford drilling his shot into the right-hand corner.

On the stroke of half time the Lakesiders added their fourth, as Edwards fired home from close range, for his second of the match.

Five minutes after the break Nathan Peate headed home at a corner to leave the visitors with a mountain to climb.

Henry Jones came close to pulling one back as his vicious strike from 20 yards just missed the target and  Kieran Lewis also sliced a half-volley over the crossbar.

Lewis grabbed consolation late header

Lewis soon made amends for his mistimed shot as the made no mistake with a header inside the box to get his side’s second, but the Lakesiders had the final say as substitute Bradley Bauress added the sixth.

Next Saturday, 18th September Haverfordwest County face another stern test as they entertain Flint Town United at the Bridge Meadow Stadium, kick off 2.30pm.

Bala Town: Alex Ramsey, Calum Woods, Nathan Peate, Anthony Stephens, Will Eavns (85, Chris Sang), Kieran Smith, Steven Leslie, Paul Rutherford (82, Danny Walker-Rice), David Edwards (88, Bradley Bauress), Oliver Southern, Chris Venables.
Substitutes not used: Harris Lloyd, Sean Smith.

Haverfordwest County: Lee Idzi, Dylan Rees, Elliot Scotcher (53, Kyle Pattern), Alaric Jones, Ricky Watts, Corey Shephard, Kieran Lewis, Henry Jones (75 Danny Williams), Kurtis Rees, Alhagi Touray Sisay, Ben Fawcett (60, Jack Wilson).
Substitutes not used: Wojciech Gajda, Mason Thomas-Jones.

Referee: Thomas Owen.
Assistants: Harry Hendricks and Connor Thomas.
Fourth Official: David Livesey.

Ben Fawcett scored in vain for Haverfordwest County