Cresselly edge Kilgetty in Pembroke County Cricket Club U13 league final

Winners Cresselly


Pembroke County Cricket Club Under 13's Junior League Final


   Cresselly (108 for 3) beat Kilgetty (104 for 4) by 7 wickets

Sponsor Colin John – Llewelyn Davies & Co Chartered Accountants
Umpires   Dave Bonner & Chris Stapleton
Scorers   Becky Badham & Cerys Jenkins
Coaches:    Thomas Arthur & Grant James / Trevor Badham &  Colin Williams
Venue   Cresselly Cricket Club
Man of the Match - Ollie Cook with Hilary, Jonathan and Mark WilliamsThis years' final was between the top two sides from the North group and promised to be an exciting affair with a tie between them in their league encounter. Cresselly had won their group and defeated St Ishmaels in the semi-final with Kilgetty runners up in the group winning against the previous unbeaten Haverfordwest who won the South group – and it was Cresselly who came out on top in this absorbing contest.
Captain of Cresselly, Tyler James won the toss against his counterpart Logan Hall of Kilgetty, and decided to bowl. The game was a superb advert for Pembrokeshire Under 13's cricket and certainly lived up to its expectation with an excellent and a high standard of cricket in all three departments by both teams

Cresselly strike early

Cresselly stuck early with wickets from Oscar Lewis (1-10) and Tyler himself (1-11). However Olly Cook, with some excellent straight drives, built slowly before eventually retiring on 25, assisted by George Morgan (13), one 6 and some fine strokes by Ollie Tucker (25*) and 11 from Dylan Sine. Milo Jones (1-19) was the other wicket taker and Ollie Arthur had a tight spell of bowling, conceding only 6 runs off his 3 overs.
Kilgetty needed a good start and they got it with Olly Cook (2-13) striking early but a powerful knock by Griff Jenkins (25*), despatching the ball to all parts of the ground, gave Cresselly a solid start Lewis Mason continued the good work (25*, including one 6). There was an excellent run out by Olly Cook with one stump to aim at from square leg and despite the best efforts of all the Kilgetty bowlers a strong innings at the end by Iori Thomas (25*, including one big 6 over the hedge at mid-wicket) saw Cresselly home after an exciting game that on another day could have gone either way.

It was great to see a large supportive crowd at the game that enjoyed an excellent evening of entertaining cricket

In the presentation after the match Martin Jones (Junior Organiser) congratulated both sides on reaching the Final with some excellent play and Cresselly for their victory. Both sides should be proud of their junior sections. He thanked Cresselly for hosting the final, including Richard Arthur and Glyn Cole the ground’s staff.  Afterwards it was on to the Club on refreshments for the players, which was well received.  Thanks to Steffan Jenkins for his organisation.
He thanked umpires Chris Stapleton and John Bonner, scorers Becky Badham and Cerys Jenkins, who all contributed to the evening’s entertainment.
Last, and by no means least, he thanked sponsors Colin John of Llewelyn Davies & Co Chartered Accountants for his continued and valuable support of Junior Cricket in the County.  It was also great to see Richard Merriman, the County Chairman present.
The player of the match award, sponsored by the Williams’ family in memory of the late John Williams, who had umpired this final for countless years and was a distinguished umpire, highly respected by all in Pembrokeshire cricket and further afield, was presented by Hilary Williams, widow and her son Mark together with  his brother Phil.  The award this year went to Olly Cook (Kilgetty) for his all-round performance with the bat, ball and in the field
 Runners up Kilgetty
Cresselly Team and Squad:
 Tyler James (C), Will Morgan (WK), Oscar Lewis, Griff Jenkins, Ollie Arthur, Milo Jones, Lewis Mason, Iori Thomas, Sophie Cole, Lucian Thornton, Josh, Richards – Rhys Barnes, Corin Thornton, Sam Warder and Oliver Rowlands.
Kilgetty Team and Squad:
Logan Hall (C), Dylan Sine (WK), George Morgan, Ollie Tucker, Maddoc Evans, Euan Gottwaltz, George Macdonald, Olly Cook, Taylor Lewis, George Schulz Dan Broomhall - Arlo Jones, Morgan Chinsammy, Evan Jones and Adam Kettle.

Umpires - Chris Stapleton and Dave Bonner

Scorers - Cerys Jenkins and Beckie Badham