Young Bluebirds fire on all cylinders

Haverfordwest County Development goal scorers

Haverfordwest County Development goal scorers

Match officials

Match officials Jeff Hurton, Charles Davies and Sion Jenkins


Haverfordwest County Development Squad 6 - Port Talbot Development Squad 0

Venue: Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium
Referee: Charles Davies
Assistants: Jeff Hurton & Sion Jenkins

Haverfordwest County’s talented young footballers stay in the top three of the South Wales Development League as a result of this comprehensive victory over a Port Talbot side which was simply never in contention as they trailed by four goals at the break.

Indeed, the final margin might have been even wider but for a few chances went astray as the Young Bluebirds piled on the pressure in the second half alongside a couple of top-drawer saves by Corey Kingdom in the visitors’ goal.

The sides had drawn 3-all when they met in Port Talbot but Steve Batty’s team took control from the outset and took an early lead when Alfie Stottor was released by Mark Davies and skipper Luke Raymond before tucking his shot into the corner of the net.

Whenever Port Talbot tried to counter they were comfortably repelled by Nick Jones and his back four of Leon Luby, Louis Thompson, George Taylor and Chris Brown – and the home side deservedly doubled their lead with a goal by Rowan Nicholson after his first shot had been parried by Kingdom but he made no mistake with the rebound.

Then Raymond produced a quality finish as he powered past two defenders and found the corner of the net as Kingdom’s dive was in vain – and Mark Davies marked his return to the Conygar Bridge Meadow Stadium as he played a neat one-two with Stottor before claiming his team’s fourth goal as proof of their superiority.

The second half followed a similar pattern as Paul Miller and Nicholson posed threats down the flank and Stottor grabbed his second by beating his marker and finding the target from a narrow angle with a curling shot.

Manager Batty must also be pleased with the strength of the players on his bench and one of them, Taku Padiwa, rounded off the scoring with a header after terrific work by Matty Delaney, whose initial tenacity was followed by an inch-perfect far-post cross.

It nicely rounded off another good all-round performance by the Young Bluebirds and the club must be pleased at the way this conveyor belt of talent is really paying dividends!

Haverfordwest County: Nick Jones: Leon Luby; Louis Thompson; George Taylor; Chris Brown: Paul Miller; Matty Delaney; Luke Raymond; Mark Davies; Rowan Nicholson: Alfie Stottor. Subs: Fraser Finlay; Taku Padiwa; Dany Raicu; Ewan Jones; Charlie Davies.

Port Talbot: Corey Kingdom: Will Tyler; Jordan Pike; Tyler Hayward; Sam Cullen; Carwyn Morgan; Ronan Whalley; Brandon Dunning; Jordan Harries; Liam Evans; Callum Jones. Subs: Carl Thomas; Josh Evans; Jack Clark