County pick up their second away win on the trot

Kurtis Rees bundled in the second goal


Aberystwyth Town 1 – Haverfordwest County 2

Haverfordwest County chalked up their second away win this week much to the delight of manager Wayne Jones.

The Bluebirds travelled to Cymru Premier Aberystwyth Town playing behind closed doors and came away with the spoils, both teams treated this as a warm-up before the season kicks off the weekend of September 11th and 12th.

The game got off to a bit of a slow start, but it was the visitors who created the first chance, Danny Williams headed wide when the striker got on the end of a Jack Wilson cross.

Minutes later the Aber keeper denied Wilson from close range as the youngster got on the end of Miles John’s teasing cross.

Wilson’s long throw-in was met by Sean Pemberton who headed over from inside the box. Wilson picked up a knock and was replaced by Marcus Griffiths.

The visitors broke the deadlock in the 29th minute, Kieran Lewis’ dangerous free kick was met by a brilliant Danny Williams looping header.

A minute later and the visitors doubled the lead when poor defending from Aber allowed Kurtis Rees to bundle home from inside the six-yard box.

Aber created a couple of chances, but poor finishing saw them not trouble Bluebirds keeper Steve Hall.
Three minutes after the interval Aber pulled one back from a corner a goal which put them right back in the game.

The visitors replaced Corey Shephard and Danny Williams with Ben Fawcett and Jack Britton giving the visitors some much needed fresh legs and energy.

Hall pulled off a good save to deny the home outfit, Britton strikes a vicious 25 yarder which the keeper tipped over the bar. Keetch was booked for a late tackle.

Aber pressed in search for an equaliser, Hall and the defence stayed firm for the remainder, and it was Wayne Jones’ team who just edged the result.

Haverfordwest County: Steve Hall, Miles John, Sean Pemberton, Alaric Jones, Ricky Watts, Cameron Keetch, Corey Shephard, Kieran Lewis, Kurtis Rees, Danny Williams, Jack Wilson.
Substitutes used: Marcus Griffiths, Jack Britton, Ben Fawcett. Not used: Wojciech Gajda.