Quick fire Brobbel hat-trick earns TNS five star win over County

Lee Jenkins - scored with a header for the only goal for Haverfordwest County

JD Cymru Premier


The New Saints 5 - Haverfordwest County 1

Ryan Brobbel - TNS hat-trick heroSuper Sub Ryan Brobbel scored a superb second half hat-trick for TNS who put on a five star display to comfortably dispose of Haverfordwest County at Park Hall.
In midweek the champions drew 0-0 with Bala Town, but on Saturday they returned to winning  ways in style to move two points clear at the top of the table as the Bluebirds slipped down to tenth.
Bluebirds' boss Tony Pennock will be concerned that his team have suffered two heavy defeats in a row, and it doesn’t get easier as they entertain second-placed Connah’s Quay Nomads next Saturday.
Leo Smith struck the only goal of the first half, and four minutes after the interval Blaine Hudson added the second, before the visitors were given a glimmer of hope as Lee Jenkins pulled one back for the visitors,

But the introduction of man of the match Brobbel proved pivotal as the substitute bagged a stunning hat-trick in nine minutes.
In the 24th minute the hosts opened the scoring with a wonderful strike, Smith cut in from the left and unleashed an unstoppable left-foot screamer.
Shortly after the break TNS doubled the lead as goal-scorer Smith turned provider as his well-flighted corner was headed home by Hudson..
Full credit to the visitors who kept themselves in the game as Jenkins headed home from inside the box.
However, Craig Harrison’s team finished strongly as the brilliance and clinical finishes of Brobbel saw them home in style.
The Northern Ireland Under-21 international scored twice in as many minutes, the first of his treble was an exquisite free kick from the edge of the 18-yard box which flew in the bottom corner. The next for number four was a delightful lob over the stranded Zac Jones. Brobbel bagged the fifth as he headed home Josh Park’s flick on to complete the scoring.
The New Saints: Connor Roberts, Ryan Astles, Joshua Daniels, Daniel Redmond (Captain), Blaine Hudson, Daniel Williams, Luke Brennan, Jordan Williams (62’ Ryan Brobbel), Leo Smith (82’ Joshua Pask), Brad Young (82’ Gwion Dafydd), Jake Canavan (67’ Ben Clark).
Substitutes not used: Reece Thompson, Christopher Marriott, Tomas Jones.
Haverfordwest County: Zac Jones, Rhys Abbruzzese, Kai Whitmore (57’ Harri John), Danny Hawkins, Martell Taylor-Crossdale, Ben Fawcett, Lee Jenkins, Tyrese Owen, Oscar Borg, Jack Wilson (45’ Ricky Watts), Luke Tabone (Captain).
Substitutes not used: Ifan Knott, Kayden Lowe-Williams, Iori Humphreys, Daniel John, Jacob Owen.
Referee: Aaron Jones.
Assistants: Jordan Christopher & Connor Thomas.
Fourth Official: Iwan Griffith.
Referee Observer: Nigel Richards.

Zac Jones gathers at Park Hall