Comeback kings Hakin United claim Welsh League scalp

Adam John in action against Goodwick scored the winner for Hakin at Cwmamman United 

FAW Trophy – Round 2


Cwmamman United 1 – Hakin United 2

Hakin United came from behind to secure an excellent victory at Grenig Park against Welsh League Division 3 Cwmamman United to reach the third round of the FAW Trophy.

The hosts took the lead midway through first period, but The Vikings grabbed second half goals through Shane Walsh and Adam John much to the delight of the travelling Hakin fans.

Calum strikes for Cwmamman

Cwmamman United opened the scoring in the 19th minute with Calum Rees making no mistake from inside the box, it gave the hosts a slender one goal cushion at the break.

However, five minutes after the restart of the second period the visitors equalised with a well worked goal. Matthew Broome’s well weighted first-time cross was met by Walsh who finished clinically at the near post.

Adam bangs in winner

In the 75th minute the Vikings grabbed the winner. Substitute Ashley Bevan brilliantly controlled a ball fizzed into him, he invitingly fed John, who took a touch in his stride then duly lashed into the net despite keeper Kyle Marsh getting fingers to it.

What the gaffer said

Shortly after the final whistle Hakin United manager Scott Davies spoke to

“It was an excellent performance from the first minute to the last. We didn’t deserve to go behind.
“There goalkeeper (Kyle Marsh) was outstanding as he made a string of top drawer saves.

“I was pleased with the team’s fitness levels it really showed in the final stages of the game.”

The draw for the third round of the FAW Trophy sees the Vikings face another tough away tie, this time they travel to Garden Village who beat Dafen Welfare 5-1, the tie will be played on Saturday, August 21st.

Cwmamman United: K. Marsh, B. Thomas, N. McNeil, R. Foschi, G. Howarth, T. Matthews, C. Rees, I. Gordon, R. Hurlow, R. Morgans, S. Howells.
Subs: L. Byng, E. Santos.

Hakin United: Gareth Fawcett, Leon Luby, Camron Thomas, Jake Merry, Jay Power, Matthew Broome, Justin Harding, Jack Britton, Shane Walsh, Ryan Wilson, Adam John.
Subs: Ashley Bevan, Laurie Haworth, Garin Gardner, Jadon Chapman, Brad Barrett.
Referee: Lee Powell.

2021 Joe Lennon Memorial Trophy

The draw for the Joe Lennon Memorial Trophy has been done. All matches will be played at Hakin United at the Observatory Ground.

Monday, 16th August – Herbrandston v Milford Athletic – kick off 6.15pm
Tuesday 17th August – Hakin United v Milford United – kick off 6.15pm
Final - Friday, 20th August – 6.15pm kick off