Pembrokeshire round off their season in style

Pembroke County Cricket Club


Inter-regional Cricket:


Pembroke County Cricket Club (177 for 9) beat South Wales Cricket Association (92 all out) by 85 runs

Umpires: Arthur Brady & Allan Hansen
Scorer: John Laugharne (Pembrokeshire)
Venue: Kingsmoor Sports Ground, Kilgetty
Successful skipper Sean HannonPembroke County Cricket Club ended their season of friendlies against other regions and associations in style as they gained revenge for an earlier defeat against The South Wales Cricket Association at Llandyssul with this comprehensive win on a splendid facility provided by Kilgetty Cricket Club.
County skipper Sean Hannon, who has done a great job all season, won the toss and elected to bat first and openers Toby Hayman and Patrick Bellerby repaid his confidence with an excellent opening stand of 65 by the 15th over before Bellerby departed for a hard-hitting 36 that included six fours.

Hayman heads county’s batting

Toby Hayman and Ashley Sutton then advanced the score to exactly 100 in the 20th over before Hayman also fell to Davies, via a Simon Holliday catch, with 40 runs that included four fours and two big sixes.
The county continued to be on top as Sutton (5 fours and a six in his 31) and Jonathan Thomas (five boundaries in his 34) kept the scoreboard ticking merrily along so that when they both departed respectively to Holliday and Davies the score stood at 142 with plenty of overs left.
But then Holliday used his spinning wiles to slow down the run-rate and take wickets at the same time, grabbing a 4 for 28 haul from his eight overs alongside Josef Davies (4 for 36) as only Brad McDermott-Jenkins (12) managed double figures and there was 9 not out at the end from skipper Hannon as the county team finished on 177 for 9: not quite what they might have expected but challenging, nonetheless.

Toby Hayman - top score with 40South Wales suffer chronic early collapse

In sharp contrast to Pembrokeshire’s excellent start there was a chronic collapse by South Wales as they lurched from 25 for 1 in nine overs to 29 for 4 two overs later.
Opener Andrew King was run out for 6, as was No 4 Callum Walters for a duck, as Joe Phillips bowled well early on.
Wiltshire (2) was caught one-handed by Ryan Lewis off his namesake Jamie (1 for 16 in eight overs, two of them maidens), and Ryan Lewis also bowled Josef Davies for 17 as he only conceded 17 runs in eight overs.
Then Jonathan Thomas took over with his canny slow stuff and he grabbed 4 for 27, including the prized scalp of No 6 Simon Holliday, the former Haverfordwest run-maker, for only 13 as Toby Hayman took the vital catch.
From then on only Ashley Colston looked likely to stay long as he scored 25 not out but wickets fell steadily, including a third run out as Dafydd Hartley suffered the same fate.
Christian Phillips conceded a wide off his first ball but then had last man Andrew Dyer from a return catch straight afterwards and Pembrokeshire were deserved victors from an excellent all-round team performance.

Jonathan Thomas - vital four-wicket haulSCORECARDS:

Pembroke CCC Batting:
Toby Hayman ct Simon Holliday b Josef Davies 40
Patrick Bellerby ct Joe Morgan b Josef Davies 36
Ashley Sutton b Simon Holliday 31
Jonathan Thomas ct Simon Holliday b Josef Davies 34
Christian Phillips ct & b Simon Holliday 4
Jack Badham lbw b Simon Holliday 1
Ryan Lewis b Simon Holliday 1
Brad McDermott-Jenkins b Ashley Colston 12
Sean Hannon not out 9
Joe Phillips ct Callum Walters b Josef Davies 2
Jamie Lewis not out 0
Extras 7
Total (9 wickets) 177
South Wales CA Bowling:
Andrew Dyer 4-0-12-0; Dafydd Hartley 2-0-18-0; Mohammed Azza 3-0-13-0; Callum Walters 3-0-21-0; Josef Davies 8-0-36-4; Tom Morgan 4-0-20-0; Simon Holliday 8-1-26-4; Ashley Colston 8-0-31-1
South Wales CA Batting:
Andrew King run out 6
Lloyd Wiltshire ct Ryan Lewis b Jamie Lewis 2
Josef Davies b Ryan Lewis 17
Callum Walters run out 0
Tomas Morgan ct Patrick Bellerby b Jonathan Thomas 8
Simon Holliday ct Toby Hayman b Jonathan Thomas 13
Ashley Colston not out 25
Joe Morgan b Jonathan Thomas 6
Mohammed Azza b Jonathan Thomas 0
Dafydd Hartley run out 4
Andrew Dyer ct & b Christian Phillips 4
Extras 7
Total (all out) 92
Pembroke CCC Bowling:
Joe Phillips 5-0-12-0; Jamie Lewis 8-2-16-1; Ryan Lewis 8-1-17-1; Jonathan Thomas 8-0-27-4; Brad McDermott-Jenkins 3-0-11-0; Christian Phillips 0.2 -1-1-1

South Wales Cricket Association